Wacky Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
Excellent spur of the moment cake, because it does not require eggs. Rises to look like a normal cake. The frosting was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Wonderful. Easy to throw together. Can't taste the vinegar at all. I usualy make homemade cream cheese frosting to go ont op of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Declan's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was my Mom's go-to cake while I was growing up. Can't count how many times we baked this together. Sigh... Only changes are: I use 3/4 cup melted crisco instead of the butter and I use a different frosting. Important note: The cake does NOT taste good when it is slightly warm, so even though you might be tempted to cut into it and steal a slice right away, hold off. You will be grateful. I don't know whether it takes the cool down for the vinegar taste to go away or what, but this is horrible when warm, DIVINE when cool. The cake holds up really well to layering. I have been asked for this recipe so many times - my Mom would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caramela
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Followed the recipe to the T! This cake baked beautifully, and it was very nice. The proportions of the frosting ingredients sound a little bit wacky, but they work; nevertheless, I think I will try a different frosting next time as this one is VERY sweet. Thanks for this interesting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My Mom's "Picnic Chocolate Cake" is nearly identical...instead of margarine use 2/3 cup oil (I like peanut or canola)...it never tasted like vinegar and was always more moist than regular cakes. I get raves every time I make it. I use only 1 tsp. of vanilla if it's from the Bourbon or Mexican bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Frosting tips: Use hot coffee instead of water. Add a big tablespoon of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Awesome! Very moist. Everyone loved it and it was so easy! If your cake bakes higher in the middle, pour your frosting there first and more than one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very YUMMY cake! I mixed everything in one bowl in order given. Great because you don't need to grease and flour the pan! And I used the advice of another reviewer, coffee instead of water! It makes the chocolate much more flavorful without tasting like mocha. It was a perfect Valentine's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The original recipe for Wacky Cake is from the 1940s when ingredients such as eggs were rationed, and also because many people still did not have electric frigs and could not store dairy items for long. This made a nice dessert using ingredients one had on hand. This is my favorite cake recipe though we prefer powdered sugar (sometimes using a paper doily or a stencil to make a design on top) rather than icing. Another way we like this cake is to add 1/2 cup of pecans to the batter, then once it is out of the oven, to poke holes in the cake and squirt in a caramel sauce to make a type of turtle snack cake. An ice cream caramel sauce in a jar works well if you have limited time to make one from scratch. This cake is much more dense than other cake recipes but also very moist. It is also a great base recipe to experiment with additions to the batter or with different toppings. Do not over-bake or much of the moistness that makes this cake so good will be lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I really enjoyed the way this cake tasted, though I did do the veggie oil subsitution for butter, and powdered sugar on top instead of frosting. To me it was plenty rich and chocolatey without chocolate frosting on top. The only downside was that I found it VERY difficult to mix it in the pan without sloshing stuff all over the place....I used a 9" x 13" glass Pyrex pan, so it wasn't any sort of unusual size. I would've much preferred mixing it up in a separate bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States