Wacky Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Made this cake last week for my family (minus the icing). It was absolutely the best cake! I have never made a cake from scratch before and this was better than any cake from a box. Definitely will be making it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Was a gluey mess that tasted completely bland. Followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wow. Great cake. Just about everyone ate it, including my daughter's friends, my family etc. I did use veggie oil substitute instead of margarine but otherwise kept it the same. You can smell a little of the vinegar ( smells a bit odd) as this comes out of the oven, but once it completely cools there is no strange aroma at all. Smells just like chocolate cake. I used my icing instead of the recipes, because mine is loved by all my family. 2 cups icing sugar, 2 cups real whipped cream and 1/3 cup cocoa whipped with electric beaters, spread on cooled cake. After a night in the fridge, the cake was a dead ringer for the type you buy at the supermarket, slightly dense, moist and chocolaty. Yep, you guessed it. I'm making it again tonight. lol. I also mix it with an electric beater in a separate bowl first so there's no lumps and transfer to a lightly greased and lined pan. Thanks alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I really enjoyed the way this cake tasted, though I did do the veggie oil subsitution for butter, and powdered sugar on top instead of frosting. To me it was plenty rich and chocolatey without chocolate frosting on top. The only downside was that I found it VERY difficult to mix it in the pan without sloshing stuff all over the place....I used a 9" x 13" glass Pyrex pan, so it wasn't any sort of unusual size. I would've much preferred mixing it up in a separate bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The original recipe for Wacky Cake is from the 1940s when ingredients such as eggs were rationed, and also because many people still did not have electric frigs and could not store dairy items for long. This made a nice dessert using ingredients one had on hand. This is my favorite cake recipe though we prefer powdered sugar (sometimes using a paper doily or a stencil to make a design on top) rather than icing. Another way we like this cake is to add 1/2 cup of pecans to the batter, then once it is out of the oven, to poke holes in the cake and squirt in a caramel sauce to make a type of turtle snack cake. An ice cream caramel sauce in a jar works well if you have limited time to make one from scratch. This cake is much more dense than other cake recipes but also very moist. It is also a great base recipe to experiment with additions to the batter or with different toppings. Do not over-bake or much of the moistness that makes this cake so good will be lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very YUMMY cake! I mixed everything in one bowl in order given. Great because you don't need to grease and flour the pan! And I used the advice of another reviewer, coffee instead of water! It makes the chocolate much more flavorful without tasting like mocha. It was a perfect Valentine's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Awesome! Very moist. Everyone loved it and it was so easy! If your cake bakes higher in the middle, pour your frosting there first and more than one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Frosting tips: Use hot coffee instead of water. Add a big tablespoon of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My Mom's "Picnic Chocolate Cake" is nearly identical...instead of margarine use 2/3 cup oil (I like peanut or canola)...it never tasted like vinegar and was always more moist than regular cakes. I get raves every time I make it. I use only 1 tsp. of vanilla if it's from the Bourbon or Mexican bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caramela
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Followed the recipe to the T! This cake baked beautifully, and it was very nice. The proportions of the frosting ingredients sound a little bit wacky, but they work; nevertheless, I think I will try a different frosting next time as this one is VERY sweet. Thanks for this interesting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States