Wacky Buckwheat Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very easy to make, very good to eat. The texture of this cake is a bit odd-- it somehow manages to be both moist and crumbly (due to the lack of gluten in the buckwheat flour?)-- but that didn't worry us too much, and the amounts of spices and molasses are exactly right. I'm pretty sure we'll be making this again, and just for fun, I think that next time I'll try adding more black pepper and dry mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great flavor! I topped ours with freshly made applesauce. I have made wacky chocolate cake before many years ago but this version is superior. I have to eat wheat-free so I was glad someone posted in comments below they used corn flour. This is so good. I will make this on a regular basis. I grated lemon peel in the batter. I milled my own flour. I found the batter to be very thick so I added extra water turned out fine. I used millet flour, buckwheat, and cornstarch. Next time will try rice or corn in place of millet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
My family lives this cake! It is very adaptable to what I have on hand. Today was all self rising flour and omitting baking soda. I used brown sugar instead of molasses, and I only had red wine vinegar. It still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
We were surprised how good this cake came out since it doesn't have milk or eggs. But best part was to see auntie enjoy two pieces of cake without any problems (she has severe Crohns disease and can't handle dairy or too much gluten). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Due to gluten free needs, I made a few modifications, but it turned out great. My picky 12 yr old dd loved it, so I know it's good! Even the gluten eaters at our family gathering loved it. Here's my changes: Substitute flax meal for all purpose flour, used part sucanat and part white sugar, next time I will use all sucanat to make it a bit healthier. I also left out the pepper, just didn't sound good to me. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes, then frosted with a cream cheese frosting. Very moist and delicious. Texture is a bit different than normal spice cake, the ground flax is not as fine as regular flour. This will be my go-to spice cake recipe, thanks so much! I also love that it is egg-free, I can make it for people with egg allergies. By using the ground flax, I can also avoid nut allergies as many gluten free buckwheat cake recipes call for almond meal. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wonderful bread! I was able to make it GLUTEN FREE by just substituting with a GF all purpose flour. In my oven it only took 30 minutes to cook. Will absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a very different cake, and fantastic! I bring it to potlucks and gatherings and it is always a hit as it is a good change from sinful overly sugary deserts. It is a desert for "men"! I have buckwheat on hand, and throw it in the vitamix to make flour. Easy easy to make! Keep some whipped cream on hand to help those who need extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The flavor was very good (I love the strong buckwheat taste....the batter was amazing). The texture was different, but that is to be expected. Not sure if I will make this again. If I do I will add a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake was a great way to incorporate buckwheat flour into our diet. My only substitution was honey for molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great cake! The batter seemed very thin to me but it baked up perfectly. Spices were perfect. I also paired it with cream cheese frosting; cutting the cake in half to make two layers. It made a pretty, bar shaped cake. Sweetie loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States