Wacky Buckwheat Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Because buckwheat is a very strong flavor, it needs strong spices. The flavor of this cake grows on you; at first I didn't care for it, but then I couldn't resist it! I ran out of cornstarch, so made up the difference with flour, and it turned out fine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very moist and light cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I would give this 4 stars, but it earned an extra one for being such a hit with my husband and son! I doubled the recipe in a 9x13 pan and it was moist and had great flavor even though I didn't have any vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I didn't exactly have all the ingredients for this recipe, but even with substitution of maple syrup for molasses, 1/2 cup of whole cornflour+baking powder, five spice in place of all spice, and the additon of orange peel this recipe was forgiving enough to work even with the changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A definite winner. The cake was so moist and delicious - all without the saturated fat of butter, eggs, and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
very flexible tasty easy fast and inexpensive recipe. I am looking for a cream cheese frosting recipe for it now, and also a vegan frosting. great keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is amazing...so moist...so yummy..this might become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Fantastic recipe! So quick to make, so moist, and so convenient in terms of having ingredients on hand. I didn't have buckwheat flour, but I did have wheat flour, and it turned out to be so yummy. I made this in a tube pan, and it was a great breakfast cake to have with coffee on my husband's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMEIST99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great cake! The batter seemed very thin to me but it baked up perfectly. Spices were perfect. I also paired it with cream cheese frosting; cutting the cake in half to make two layers. It made a pretty, bar shaped cake. Sweetie loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake was a great way to incorporate buckwheat flour into our diet. My only substitution was honey for molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States