Wacky Buckwheat Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
My family lives this cake! It is very adaptable to what I have on hand. Today was all self rising flour and omitting baking soda. I used brown sugar instead of molasses, and I only had red wine vinegar. It still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
We were surprised how good this cake came out since it doesn't have milk or eggs. But best part was to see auntie enjoy two pieces of cake without any problems (she has severe Crohns disease and can't handle dairy or too much gluten). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Due to gluten free needs, I made a few modifications, but it turned out great. My picky 12 yr old dd loved it, so I know it's good! Even the gluten eaters at our family gathering loved it. Here's my changes: Substitute flax meal for all purpose flour, used part sucanat and part white sugar, next time I will use all sucanat to make it a bit healthier. I also left out the pepper, just didn't sound good to me. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes, then frosted with a cream cheese frosting. Very moist and delicious. Texture is a bit different than normal spice cake, the ground flax is not as fine as regular flour. This will be my go-to spice cake recipe, thanks so much! I also love that it is egg-free, I can make it for people with egg allergies. By using the ground flax, I can also avoid nut allergies as many gluten free buckwheat cake recipes call for almond meal. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wonderful bread! I was able to make it GLUTEN FREE by just substituting with a GF all purpose flour. In my oven it only took 30 minutes to cook. Will absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a very different cake, and fantastic! I bring it to potlucks and gatherings and it is always a hit as it is a good change from sinful overly sugary deserts. It is a desert for "men"! I have buckwheat on hand, and throw it in the vitamix to make flour. Easy easy to make! Keep some whipped cream on hand to help those who need extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The flavor was very good (I love the strong buckwheat taste....the batter was amazing). The texture was different, but that is to be expected. Not sure if I will make this again. If I do I will add a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This cake was a great way to incorporate buckwheat flour into our diet. My only substitution was honey for molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great cake! The batter seemed very thin to me but it baked up perfectly. Spices were perfect. I also paired it with cream cheese frosting; cutting the cake in half to make two layers. It made a pretty, bar shaped cake. Sweetie loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Fantastic recipe! So quick to make, so moist, and so convenient in terms of having ingredients on hand. I didn't have buckwheat flour, but I did have wheat flour, and it turned out to be so yummy. I made this in a tube pan, and it was a great breakfast cake to have with coffee on my husband's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMEIST99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is amazing...so moist...so yummy..this might become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States