Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This dish is simple and fantastic! I used all the vodka and reduce the red pepper flakes by half. My husband is a very fussy eater and he can't stop eating it. I served it over mini penne pasta and it really captured the sauce perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Wow!! Easy and good! I used all the vodka and all the pepper flakes. I did not have any heavy cream but I used whole milk and non-dairy creamer. OMG faux-paux but it worked. I can't wait until I have real cream..YUM I served it over meat stuffed shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I added more garlic and I diced the prosciutto. I also used diced tomatos and added some sugar to cut the acidity. I add diced onions for addition favour. I simmered the dish after adding the tomato products for 2 hours before adding the cream and this blended the flavours better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
LOVED this recipe! i didn't add the can of water, I like the sauce a little thicker. I did add some parmesan on the plate, and that was a great addition. I like it spicy, so 1/2 tsp pepper flakes was great, but if you're serving this for a crowd, maybe cut back the pepper flakes a little. Roma tomatoes do make a big difference. I didn't use fresh herbs, wonder how much better that would have been?? Terrific sauce, went awesome with penne. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
We are going to play with this a little more, but, as a basic, its terrific. I changed it to 2 servings, and it made ......3. I used fresh Romano cheese, and my wife wished I'd have used dry parm.... I blended it in the pan to smooth it a little, used no water and 15 oz tomato sauce to 15 oz, diced tomatoes. Added a smidge of sugar. I had this sauce recently in a las vegas hotel and it was so smooth...... and in denver, its very chunky. we likw the smooth texture a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Grade A+ sauce. The amount of prosciutto makes this a costly recipe though. It's well worth the cash for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Czak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a really good sauce to play with, and add or take away what you like. I used Fire roasted diced tomato and garlic. (new from Hunts) reduced the vodka to 1/2 c. did NOT add water, and fresh grated parm. Also, I served it over 3 cheese tortellini. OMG! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIMEELVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
One word . . .Yum! I made this but substituted the prosciutto with chicken. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Tried this for the first time and it came out excellent!! instead of the plum tomatoes, i used diced tomatoes like another reviewer and it was excellent!! My husband couldnt stop raving about it...definitely a spouse pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States