Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
One word . . .Yum! I made this but substituted the prosciutto with chicken. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried this recipe without the prosciutto, because it's too salty for my taste. The sauce was delicious!! The alcohol evaporated well enough that we couldn't taste it, but it still enhanced the flavors of the other ingredients. I think next time I'll use less water to keep the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a really good sauce to play with, and add or take away what you like. I used Fire roasted diced tomato and garlic. (new from Hunts) reduced the vodka to 1/2 c. did NOT add water, and fresh grated parm. Also, I served it over 3 cheese tortellini. OMG! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIMEELVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Grade A+ sauce. The amount of prosciutto makes this a costly recipe though. It's well worth the cash for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Czak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Wow!! Easy and good! I used all the vodka and all the pepper flakes. I did not have any heavy cream but I used whole milk and non-dairy creamer. OMG faux-paux but it worked. I can't wait until I have real cream..YUM I served it over meat stuffed shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
We are going to play with this a little more, but, as a basic, its terrific. I changed it to 2 servings, and it made ......3. I used fresh Romano cheese, and my wife wished I'd have used dry parm.... I blended it in the pan to smooth it a little, used no water and 15 oz tomato sauce to 15 oz, diced tomatoes. Added a smidge of sugar. I had this sauce recently in a las vegas hotel and it was so smooth...... and in denver, its very chunky. we likw the smooth texture a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This dish is simple and fantastic! I used all the vodka and reduce the red pepper flakes by half. My husband is a very fussy eater and he can't stop eating it. I served it over mini penne pasta and it really captured the sauce perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
came out too watery, should not have added water. Did not taste anything close to good vodka sauce recipes. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
The family enjoyed this recipe immensly. I also added a bit of sweetex to counteract the acidity and didnt have fresh herbs, so used dried. Chopped some mushrooms and added those for bulk. Substituted the cream with low fat creme freche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States