Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I added more garlic and I diced the prosciutto. I also used diced tomatos and added some sugar to cut the acidity. I add diced onions for addition favour. I simmered the dish after adding the tomato products for 2 hours before adding the cream and this blended the flavours better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This was pretty bad. I didn't add the prosciutto, but I can't imagine that it would help. It seems like a tad bit much vodka in this recipe, most others only use 1/4 or 1/3 cup vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
One word . . .Yum! I made this but substituted the prosciutto with chicken. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a really good sauce to play with, and add or take away what you like. I used Fire roasted diced tomato and garlic. (new from Hunts) reduced the vodka to 1/2 c. did NOT add water, and fresh grated parm. Also, I served it over 3 cheese tortellini. OMG! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIMEELVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried this recipe without the prosciutto, because it's too salty for my taste. The sauce was delicious!! The alcohol evaporated well enough that we couldn't taste it, but it still enhanced the flavors of the other ingredients. I think next time I'll use less water to keep the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I have tried this recipe and it came out fabulous. I can't understand how the other Person can mess up such a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious! I used pancetta instead of prosciutto because I already had it. I also left out the water and used 2 28 oz. cans of crushed San Marzano tomatoes and let it reduce a bit. The biggest change I made was to use 1 can of evaporated milk instead of cream and add in 3/4 cup of grated Romano cheese at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
We are going to play with this a little more, but, as a basic, its terrific. I changed it to 2 servings, and it made ......3. I used fresh Romano cheese, and my wife wished I'd have used dry parm.... I blended it in the pan to smooth it a little, used no water and 15 oz tomato sauce to 15 oz, diced tomatoes. Added a smidge of sugar. I had this sauce recently in a las vegas hotel and it was so smooth...... and in denver, its very chunky. we likw the smooth texture a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
LOVED this recipe! i didn't add the can of water, I like the sauce a little thicker. I did add some parmesan on the plate, and that was a great addition. I like it spicy, so 1/2 tsp pepper flakes was great, but if you're serving this for a crowd, maybe cut back the pepper flakes a little. Roma tomatoes do make a big difference. I didn't use fresh herbs, wonder how much better that would have been?? Terrific sauce, went awesome with penne. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Shame on you, NDULAK! You leave out the KEY ingredient, prosciutto, and complain about how bad it was! That's like leaving the tomatoes out of tomato soup and complaining that the soup is awful. Please people, prepare the recipe as written the first time. THEN write your review. THEN go ahead and make your changes. You then can submit it as a new recipe. So often here, the reviews are so drastically different from the original recipe that there is virtually no resemblance to the original. Again, shame on you, NDULAK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States