Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I REALLY like this sauce!! I changed it just a bit due to what I had on hand though. I used fresh romas from my garden that had been blanched and peeled. I had like 3 pounds and was gonna do 2 sauces but decided I was too lazy so crushed them all and put them all in this sauce. equaled 2 28oz cans I believe. Then I let it simmer and reduce for 2 hours instead of the 15 min the recipe called for then stirred in the cream. since I used so many tomatoes there wasn;t much heat in this sauce but it still had lots of flavor. Definitely a special occasion sauce I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Racquelle, This recipe is absolutely wonderful!!! I made it just the way you instructed. We don't like spicy so I just didn't add the crushed pepper. I am from Italian heritage and it is "tradition" that you let your sauce cook for hours....so that's what I did. (about 3 hours for this sauce) The aroma filled my entire house! Unfortunately, this first pot was for a catering job my husband was doing and so we couldn't eat it!! But my 5 year old daughter and I were "tasting" it a lot and she loved it so much she wanted me to fill a bowl with it so she could eat it with a spoon! Needless to say, Today I'm making another batch for us to eat!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is easy and very tasty. If anyone is having trouble with this recipe, I think cooking it longer will enhance the wonderful flavors! Racqelle, your recipe was a big hit for the party we catered also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I love this! Didn't have any prosciutto so I didn't bother with that. I also didn't put in the water because I thought it would make it too thin. After it was finished I felt I wanted to add a little sugar to cut the acidity. Otherwise I made it as written and I love it. I do not think it is all that spicey and I can't taste the alcohol at all. After you simmer it for 10 minutes it is reduced dramatically anyway. This is very easy with ingredients that I had on hand. What is better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We're a vegetarian family so I omitted the meat but this sauce otherwise made was amazing!! Don't skimp on fusing the vodka with the crushed red pepper, it makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
You really can't go wrong with this one. Quick, easy and very tasty! I substituted the prosciutto with pancetta and simmered the vodka 3-4 minutes and the tomatoes about 3 minutes, didn't add the water and cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bloody_mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
LOVED this recipe and have made it 4 or 5 times now. I used a little less prosciutto and a little more garlic than called for and 'let the flavours marry' for a few hours. Delicious. One of my new staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Like many others, I did not follow this recipe exactly. But, I stuck as close to it as I could given the ingredients in my pantry & fridge. I actually didn't have any tomato sauce, so I just used a large can of crushed tomatoes, and I thought it still turned out great! I also subbed bacon (just a few diced slices) for the prosciutto because I already had it :) Either way - this recipe was so good, I was already planning the next time that I'd make it for friends & family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this tonight and didn't have crushed red pepper but used black pepper instead. This was another wonderful recipe. But NOTE the vodka pepper mix is supposed to sit for 1 HOUR. This is not mentioned in the prep time so FYI start with this first so you can let it sit. We obviously didn't let it sit more than about 15 minutes and only had black pepper in it anyway. We also had cheap McCormick vodka would love to try with Grey Goose or another better vodka next time around. I was a bit worried about the amount of vodka but it was not overwhelming in the sauce by any means. Loved it and had plenty leftover as there was only the two of us for dinner, froze the rest for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used an extra large jar of Prego from Sam's club instead of the tomato sauce and can of roma tomatoes along with chopped baby bella mushrooms. I plan to use half for dinner this week and freeze half for another meal. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Nevers
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
VERY good. I substituted diced Italian seasoned tomatoes for the roma tomatoes and added bit bit more garlic. I also omitted the water and added about 1/4 cup grated romano cheese to the sauce. Serve over penne or your favorite pasta. Delish! This makes a lot, but the recipe is easily halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States