Vodka Pasta a la Guido Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious and very simple and quick to make which makes life so much easier after a long day at work. I think next time I might had some chicken to the sauce to change it up a bit, but it's delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
As written, kind of blah and not worth the trouble. But it goes quickly to five stars if you . . . skip the butter all together. Instead, saute some onions and garlic in olive oil. Add the tomatoes, but don't drain them. That liquid will be great in your sauce! To thicken your sauce, skip the heavy cream and use 8 ounces of neufchatel cheese (which is just low fat cream cheese). Add basil and oregano to taste with a little fresh ground pepper. I cut back the vodka to 1 cup and it was plenty and I only used 1 teaspoon pepper flakes and it was plenty spicy for us. I know this is a huge change to the recipe, but I'm sorry to say it was just so bland as written. Oh, and I also often add some sauteed mushrooms to this sauce - super yummy!!! And I use bowtie pasta. It's just a fun way to serve pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very easy! Added garlic and baby portabella mushrooms and was tasty over chicken breast and pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Just seemed there was a lot left out of this recipe and too much alcohol. Too boozy, so I cut that down, Added fresh basil, a little oregano, fresh garlic, and olive oil instead of butter. Be sure to use only fresh grated parmesan. Now you're talking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Not bad. My sauce was thin, but that's my own fault. I had to make my own cream, because I didn't have any. I used Cavatappi pasta and diced tomatoes, because I didn't have whole peeled ones. I will be making this again, but I'll make sure to have the cream on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Except for the butter, which I didn't use as I didn't feel it was necessary, this is a near classic version of the traditional Italian tomato sauce with vodka and cream. I omitted the red pepper flakes and used tomatoes I had put up from my garden. Simmered the tomatoes for several minutes until slightly reduced and thickened, added the vodka and simmered for another five minutes or so, then stirred in the cream and cooked just until heated through. I served this over breaded veal and farfalle (bowtie) pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was very yummy! my family loved it! we love the spice as well. i added some other things as I always tend to do. i did use cream cheese instead of heavy cream, i added basil parsley and fresh chives to the sauce as well as onions and chopped garlic with a little pinch of oregano fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and sauteed some chopped onion in olive oil (no butter) along with 3 cloves of garlic. I then added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and then added 1 Tbsp. of dried basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, and 2 tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I used half and half instead of cream and the sauce thickened up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States