Vodka Pasta a la Guido Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Except for the butter, which I didn't use as I didn't feel it was necessary, this is a near classic version of the traditional Italian tomato sauce with vodka and cream. I omitted the red pepper flakes and used tomatoes I had put up from my garden. Simmered the tomatoes for several minutes until slightly reduced and thickened, added the vodka and simmered for another five minutes or so, then stirred in the cream and cooked just until heated through. I served this over breaded veal and farfalle (bowtie) pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Absolutely amazing recipe. My boyfriend and I finished a whole pound of pasta together. He is picky with foods, but he LOVED this dish. Very easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! I used cream cheese in place of heavy cream & parmesan cheese. I also added garlic & topped off with parsley. I didn't have penne pasta, so used fettucini. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
i thought this recipe was excellent. i added some garlic and onions the first time i made it, and now i'm going to add some mushrooms. i didn't add as many red pepper flakes as the recipe called for, just sprinkled some in. i couldn't believe how fast and easy this was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This was delicious. We used fat free half and half and it turned out great. I will be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I do a very similar version of this recipe. All same ingredients, but varying amounts. One difference is that I serve mine with fresh chives - heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was very yummy! my family loved it! we love the spice as well. i added some other things as I always tend to do. i did use cream cheese instead of heavy cream, i added basil parsley and fresh chives to the sauce as well as onions and chopped garlic with a little pinch of oregano fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very easy! Added garlic and baby portabella mushrooms and was tasty over chicken breast and pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States