Vodka Pasta a la Guido Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and sauteed some chopped onion in olive oil (no butter) along with 3 cloves of garlic. I then added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and then added 1 Tbsp. of dried basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, and 2 tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I used half and half instead of cream and the sauce thickened up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Except for the butter, which I didn't use as I didn't feel it was necessary, this is a near classic version of the traditional Italian tomato sauce with vodka and cream. I omitted the red pepper flakes and used tomatoes I had put up from my garden. Simmered the tomatoes for several minutes until slightly reduced and thickened, added the vodka and simmered for another five minutes or so, then stirred in the cream and cooked just until heated through. I served this over breaded veal and farfalle (bowtie) pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
i thought this recipe was excellent. i added some garlic and onions the first time i made it, and now i'm going to add some mushrooms. i didn't add as many red pepper flakes as the recipe called for, just sprinkled some in. i couldn't believe how fast and easy this was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! I used cream cheese in place of heavy cream & parmesan cheese. I also added garlic & topped off with parsley. I didn't have penne pasta, so used fettucini. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I have had other vodka sauces that I liked better than this recipe. I thought that there was too much vodka in it and it "burned" the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This was delicious. We used fat free half and half and it turned out great. I will be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
WAY TOO SPICY! Plus the sauce was a little too thin because of the amount of pasta. I'd definitely decrease the amount of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Not bad. My sauce was thin, but that's my own fault. I had to make my own cream, because I didn't have any. I used Cavatappi pasta and diced tomatoes, because I didn't have whole peeled ones. I will be making this again, but I'll make sure to have the cream on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Just seemed there was a lot left out of this recipe and too much alcohol. Too boozy, so I cut that down, Added fresh basil, a little oregano, fresh garlic, and olive oil instead of butter. Be sure to use only fresh grated parmesan. Now you're talking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States