Vodka Mocha Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
VERY IMPORTANT!! The pudding in this recipe is a SMALL PACKAGE-3.9 oz. NOT 5.9 oz. I weighted out 5.9 oz. and added it to the mix and my cake fell! I don't want anyone else to make this mistake. I am going to try it again with a small package of chocolate pudding and next time I am going to put chopped pecans in the bundt pan before I pour the batter in and bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is tasty enough, but there is nothing that really sets this cake apart from other mass produced cake mix variations. Subtle hints of chocolate and coffee and, love it or hate it, it is definitely evident there is liquor in the cake. I didn't care for how thin the glaze was, though it might be nice as one of those glazes that coats and soaks into the cake. I just added enough powdered sugar to get the glaze of drizzling consistency. Overall, a rather average cake mix cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This was a wonderful surprise. The cake is very moist and very easy to make. And it does get better after it is refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
One of the best cakes I've ever made! Only change was that I made a mix from scratch. So moist, rich, and delicious... If I made it again, though, I would put in a little more coffee liqueur and a little less oil; I would have liked that taste to come through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I love this kind of recipe because it's a jumping off point for what you can do with a cake mix. I don't understand why the recipe doesn't call for a chocolate cake mix. I'll try that next time. The only other thing I did was use all Kahlua instead of any water (1cup Kahlua, no water). I also ditched the glaze mix because that sounded like a big mess. I used the glaze recipe from the rum cake from this website. It's cooked butter and sugar. I subbed Kahlua for the rum. The glaze soaked in and made the cake verrrrrrry yummy! Again, a chocolate cake would make this truly "mocha."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful tasting cake, and so easy to make! I have made more than 30 of these to give away to friends/neighbors during the holiday season. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This cake is great. I did not however like the icing so I kept adding powdered sugar to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
It was ok. I don't think refrigerating it first helped the flavor at all. I think it would've been better warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
OK, I've learned my lesson, I will read reviews BEFORE I make the recipe. Unfortunately, this time I didn't have enought time to read the reviews, or at least one relly important review from Diana who warned others not to use the 5.9 oz of pudding, use the smaller pack instead. Like her review predicted, my cake fell. It looks awful, and the taste is just OK. So, for everyone wanting to make this recipe DO NOT USE 5.9 OZ OF PUDDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It's okay. Nice and light and fluffy, however maybe it was the Starbucks Coffee Liquor I used. It was just a little too "boozy" tasting for me. I didn't even use the coffee liquor for the glaze, instead I used 1/4 cup of real coffee and the powdered sugar. However everyone else in the office seems to like it. Very simple to make and comes out of the oven nice and light and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P. Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States