Vodka Mocha Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I did not have success with this cake. While I enjoyed the flavor, the cake itself was very spongy. I could tell the texture was off when I was adding the batter to the pan. No one complained about the cake, but no one really loved it either. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The base cake is very good - and I did use the 5.9oz package of pudding and it turned out very fluffy and light... but does have a definite liquor taste (again, like it or hate it). If you could improve the glaze, maybe add nuts to the bottom of the pan it would make it stand out more. Overall, a bit average without making it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meditrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I love this kind of recipe because it's a jumping off point for what you can do with a cake mix. I don't understand why the recipe doesn't call for a chocolate cake mix. I'll try that next time. The only other thing I did was use all Kahlua instead of any water (1cup Kahlua, no water). I also ditched the glaze mix because that sounded like a big mess. I used the glaze recipe from the rum cake from this website. It's cooked butter and sugar. I subbed Kahlua for the rum. The glaze soaked in and made the cake verrrrrrry yummy! Again, a chocolate cake would make this truly "mocha."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I didn't have coffee liqueur so I use chambord. I also used raspberry vodka instead of plain vodka. I accidently left out the sugar and it was still a hit. Good to know. I also use 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar for the glaze and added chambord tablespoon by tablespoon until it was the right consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
OK, I've learned my lesson, I will read reviews BEFORE I make the recipe. Unfortunately, this time I didn't have enought time to read the reviews, or at least one relly important review from Diana who warned others not to use the 5.9 oz of pudding, use the smaller pack instead. Like her review predicted, my cake fell. It looks awful, and the taste is just OK. So, for everyone wanting to make this recipe DO NOT USE 5.9 OZ OF PUDDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I loved making this cake. Firstly, after reading all the reviews, I decided to double the amount of Vodka and Callua I used in the cake batter. Maintained the same amount of Jello. I added the icing with 2parts callua and 3 parts convection sugar. Refrigerated overnight, however I was not satisifed with how that looked, so I made another chocolate and marshmellow icing ( 3 cups of minature marshmellows, 1 cube of semisweet chocolate and 3 tablespoons of butter into a pan and heated until thick. Poured over cake. Everyone loved it. Last note: when you had confection sugar and callua mixture, it will settle at bottom of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I, too, have made this cake many times, and my friends beg me for the recipe. I only make one change...I use White Chocolate instant pudding instead of chocolate. This week,for the first time, I noticed the difference in the ounces of the pudding so I used 2 boxes [which totals more than the 5.9 oz. in recipe].So I added a little extra liquid. The cake rose high and fluffy...then collapsed after cooling! However, it certainly didn't affect the flavor and it was more moist [but not pretty!]I'll probably go back to using just one package for appearances sake! If you want to use the 1/4 cup liqueur for the icing, you need 1 1/4 cup confectioner's sugar. This is not a glaze but an icing! So, just adjust your amounts according to the taste and consistency you prefer. Some foods are just better the second day...it's like the flavors intensify. This cake is great warm or cold. Quick and easy to make. Thanks, Michelle! You created a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Everyone LOVED this cake!! I have been asked to make it 5 times since Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and baked it according to the time given in the recipe. It BURNED to a crisp on the outside. The inside was moist, but I could not serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States