Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
The recipe is good and no time to make! Now lets try mine;Cut up 2 chicken breast into inch pieces and put oil on large fry pan stir fry chicken add rice use a bag you boil cut open,pour in pan with chicken.lightly brown.Add small can tomato sauce,salt, pepper,cumin,garlic powder,chopped onions,chopped tomatoes and one tablespoons of Knorr-caldo con sabor de pollo. everything else to your taste add water and cook till most of water is gone and it's tender!It might take a few cups let water simmer out. Enjoy! corn tortillas is good with this dish. Fran From Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Very good !! Wonderful flavor and even better aroma as this cooks ! Quite easy to make as well. ( Except for chopping the dates !! Quite sticky!!) Made this pretty much as written. Slight changes in tenders instead of breast, didn't bread the chicken, added a little more chili powder, garlic and added some paprika. The wife really can't eat too much rice so made baked potatoes and then slathered them with cheddar cheese, salsa and sour cream. Excellent meal ! Will make again soon !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed all the steps except the dredging in flour. I used chicken leg quarters because that's what I had. I finished it off in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours and it was magnificent! I also added some smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
You CAN"T leave out the dates on this recipe. People need to just make recipes and rate them. This was great just as written. Thank you Shelbi Bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Not really worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Skipped the dates and added tomatoes...also salmon instead of chicken. ..all at home liked it much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I had just used up the last of my dates so I added some raisans. Really, all you are looking for is the sweetness and the raisans worked fine. This was good, but not enough zing for me. I would add more Thyme, likely 1/2 tsp and double the chili powder next time. I serve it with Spanish Rice and Black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I used this recipe as a base. I changed things up quite a bit, but the flavor was incredible. I put the seasonings on the chicken and baked it instead of breading and frying. I used more dates than the recipe called for as well. I served this over wild rice but I think brown rice would be best since there are so many flavors going on. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Surprisingly great! The sweetness of the caramelized onions with the dates is nice and with the spiciness of the chili? Yumm! I used Serrano ham instead of bacon (also 6 slices). I didn't dredge the chicken either, which is probably why the sauce was very thin/watery. The taste was still quite good though! I only used two chicken breasts as well. I didn't use any thyme. I think that this is a four and half star recipe with my modifications. I am giving it a five star rating due to the changes that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this for book club last night - should have tried it first, but didn't. I didn't think it was very tasty and neither did the guests - followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States