Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Yum! What a nice change for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good. I used a little less butter and reduced sugar to 3/4 c. You can also use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white and it turns out real good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I made mine in a round 2 quart dish, and the deeper center didn't firm up (suspected that might happen.) Aside from that, this was alright...like another reviewer said, it's more like a coffee cake. Not outstanding, so I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I decided to try this recipe because I had a bunch of apples on the verge of going bad, but not enough ap flour to make a traditional pie crust. I have to say it's very tasty, even when you forget to add the salt! I also took the advice of previous reviewers and substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar, and I had to use half cake flour because I didn't have enough regular flour, but it came out great anyway. Perfect alternative for those of us who like apple pie but don't like the tough crust that comes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Absolutely delicious! I added just a little nutmeg & cloves, but it would be great even without any additions to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I made this using the suggestion in other reviews to use a combination of white and brown sugar, and it was wonderful! Even my husband liked it, and he's not a sweet-eater! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I thought it would be more like a pudding. It is quick and easy to make, more like a good coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I followed the other reviewer's advise and added 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, instead of 1 cup white sugar. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract, 1 tsp. of lemon extract. A sprinkle of allspice and a sprinkle of ginger to the batter. It turned out to be quite flavorful. However, I usually like my cobbler to be more crusty and not so spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
You must try this with 1/2 dark brown & white sugar,add cinnamon & vanilla extract to the batter and mix the apples up in the batter. Who needs ice cream? This dessert is rich and heavenly and worth every splendid calorie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Yummy! This was like a very moist southern dump cobbler. It would be wonderful with any fruit...peaches, blueberries, cherries, pears, plums, blackberries, raspberries. This is my "cobbler" recipe from now on. And sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States