Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was just delicious and, as the submitter states, quick and easy! I prepared the recipe with the ingredients exactly as written, choosing not to sub any brown sugar as other reviewers suggested. I wanted to see for myself how the recipe stood on its own. I was not at all disappointed. I think it would have been easier and neater to mix the batter up in a separate bowl, then pour the batter into the baking dish, but this is a minor issue. I spread the chopped apples over the entire surface of the batter, rather than confining them to the center as the recipe directs, and the "pudding" (which is cake-like) had evenly distributed apples throughout. I served this with vanilla ice cream and drizzled with warm caramel sauce. Mmmm, sweet autumn comfort food at it's best. Hubby must agree, as he went back for a large second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I have tried everything from gala to fuji to granny smith and they all work really well. I have to substitute splenda and whole wheat pastry flour for my diet needs, but no one I feed it to seems to notice and they all want a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
OMG! Thumbs up for me on this one. The only thing I changed was the sugar and went with the recommendations from some other reviewers and used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is not only super easy, but tastes wonderful!! I made some modifications suggested by another person...sub cinn. w/ pumpkin pie spice and vanilla and used half white sugar half brown sugar. I also made sure to distribute the apples evenly among the mixture, not in the middle as directed. Not sure why it is suggested to pour it in the middle...I didn't need any vanilla icecream! Next time I will use half wheat flour and half white just to see b/c I get the impression it will still taste just as good :) YA GOTTA TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
i added a little more cinnamon. nice and buttery alone, with ice cream or, as my husband eats it, .with milk. Now with our 2 kids, this is gone in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
We really liked this. I will make it with brown and white sugar next time. I did add vanilla to the mix and it was great! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
My husband LOVED this, which threw me because I really didn't expect he would like it that much. I made it with applesauce instead of apples, since I was having my tonsils out. I am sure it is probably even better with the actual apples in it though. And yes, the ice cream makes it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was good...but just. Hubby used vanilla ice cream and I did whipped cream and that was yummy. I think I will just stick to flaky, crusty pies and cobblers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this was really very good. i did though change a few things. instead of cinnamon i added 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. and 1 tsp vanilla. i mixed the chunky chopped apples in the batter. i did all these changes because of reading what some of the viewers said about blandness. it came out fabulous. moist but firm. was a hit at the sunday potluck. people were fighting to take the leftovers home. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very very good, but I didn't mix the batter in the container I was going to use for cooking. If you are going to do this, remember to butter the dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States