Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
OMG! Thumbs up for me on this one. The only thing I changed was the sugar and went with the recommendations from some other reviewers and used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is not only super easy, but tastes wonderful!! I made some modifications suggested by another person...sub cinn. w/ pumpkin pie spice and vanilla and used half white sugar half brown sugar. I also made sure to distribute the apples evenly among the mixture, not in the middle as directed. Not sure why it is suggested to pour it in the middle...I didn't need any vanilla icecream! Next time I will use half wheat flour and half white just to see b/c I get the impression it will still taste just as good :) YA GOTTA TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
i added a little more cinnamon. nice and buttery alone, with ice cream or, as my husband eats it, .with milk. Now with our 2 kids, this is gone in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
We really liked this. I will make it with brown and white sugar next time. I did add vanilla to the mix and it was great! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
My husband LOVED this, which threw me because I really didn't expect he would like it that much. I made it with applesauce instead of apples, since I was having my tonsils out. I am sure it is probably even better with the actual apples in it though. And yes, the ice cream makes it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was good...but just. Hubby used vanilla ice cream and I did whipped cream and that was yummy. I think I will just stick to flaky, crusty pies and cobblers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this was really very good. i did though change a few things. instead of cinnamon i added 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. and 1 tsp vanilla. i mixed the chunky chopped apples in the batter. i did all these changes because of reading what some of the viewers said about blandness. it came out fabulous. moist but firm. was a hit at the sunday potluck. people were fighting to take the leftovers home. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very very good, but I didn't mix the batter in the container I was going to use for cooking. If you are going to do this, remember to butter the dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
It was very tasty n delicious but I had to extend the cooking time by twice the time it should of been. I will make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Tasty and best of all, QUICK and EASY. I made this on the way out the door to dinner at the in-laws and took it fresh out of the oven in an insulated carrier. It's definetly not meant to be spongy and cake-like, but very moist and pudding-like. I had no complaints, although next time I'll try it with less butter for calories' sake. I'll also sprinkle the apples across the entire surface of the batter so that every slice gets its share. Just had the leftovers for breakfast after warming them in the microwave. Delicious the second time around too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States