Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
my family calls this cobbler . For generations it's been one of the first recipes our girls learn to make. We use the same amt. of butter , no matter what size pan , then merely increase everything else in even increments , for different pan sizes . I use self rising flour & skip the baking powder & salt . It works with any fruit , fresh,frozen or canned and the only ones that need precooked are those like apples that won't get done in the allotted baking time . As for seasoning , use whatever's appropriate for the fruit you're using , same goes for sweetening the fruit itself ...none for canned , your preference for the fresh . Once you figure out your own spin on this recipe , its virtually fool proof !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
So simple and good! My husband and I really enjoyed it. I took it to a family dinner and everyone ate it up. I followed the directions as stated excluding the apples being applied to the batter. I spooned them over the entire batter than baked. Once it came out I made a bread pudding glaze to put over the top! It was EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amm2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
this is great for a beginner baker like me. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parakiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious!! My hubby thinks it would be extra good with berries instead of apples - just skip the microwaving step. I love that you can always have the ingredients on hand. It would be good with canned pears or peaches - again skip the microwave step. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very easy and delicious! I mixed the batter in a separate bowl and poured it into a 9 inch pie dish then layered the sliced microwaved apples on top. I used half brown sugar and half white with a tsp. of vanilla in the batter. I spinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar and it smelled wonderful while it was baking! Definitely serve warm with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is so easy even I got it right first time around, it is a lovely light pudding delicious with Vanilla Ice Cream it reminded me very much of Eve's pudding think it might be much the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Changes (preparation mostly): I baked apples in the oven for 10 minutes, instead of microwaving them. Also, I mixed everything in a separate bowl, and then poured batter into the baking dish. Finally, I spread apples evenly around the dish, and not only in the center. It was easy, quick, economical and delicious! My fiance had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this yesterday and it tasted great. I made some of the changes suggested: used half brown and half white sugar, added 1 tsp of vanilla, mixing apples in with the batter so they would be distributed evenly. Instead of adding the cinnamon to the apples, I added the cinnamon and a little nutmeg to the batter. It gave it a great taste. We ate it with warm caramel ice cream topping. I may try it with peaches next time. will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I tried to double this recipe and i wouldn't suggest it! too soggy in the middle. I also used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I used store bought apples to make it superfast. will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is an amazing desert! The top gets crunchy around the edges and absolute heaven to eat. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and added about 1/2 tsp of cardamum and 1 tsp of vanilla. I too spread my apples around the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States