Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious...I made it exactly as the recipe, except I did cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was perfect for our tastes. I did use golden delicious apples, and they worked out great. My kids are begging me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
We really liked this. Because I tend to be messy, I mixed the batter in a bowl and then poured it into a baking dish. I followed other reviewers and spread the apple all over the batter. In taste and texture this reminded me of the steamed apple pudding my aunt used to make, but took a 1/4 of the time to cook. Thankyou Laurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Ifound this recipe simple, and a winner with all 5 of my children. We sprinkled it with icing sugar on serving and it was delicious. I spread the apples over the base of a baking tin and poured the sponge mix over...yum....will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It really didn't have much flavor. would have preferred a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was great! Made it for work, needed an extra dessert for a "Fall Favorites" menu real quick. I used extra apple, mixing it into the batter. I also added an egg. Served it with a little fresh cream drizzle dusted with a bit of cinnamon, wonderful...Could also make it to a brunch menu...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Beware: This is one of those recipes where you can eat the whole pan by yourself, ha-ha. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good, I did change the recipe a little bit for high altitude. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. For the batter I used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar plus a 1/4 cup white, 1 tablespoon more of milk and about a 1/4 teaspoon less of baking powder. The butter, flour, cinnamon and salt I kept the same amounts. The apples I sautéed in a pan with some butter, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, and 1/4 teaspoon salt until soft. I stirred the apples in the batter like others recommended put it in a glass pie pan and baked for 25 min. I served it with a drizzle of heavy cream, (very good) whipped cream would be very good too. It was fast I I liked it a lot, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
my family calls this cobbler . For generations it's been one of the first recipes our girls learn to make. We use the same amt. of butter , no matter what size pan , then merely increase everything else in even increments , for different pan sizes . I use self rising flour & skip the baking powder & salt . It works with any fruit , fresh,frozen or canned and the only ones that need precooked are those like apples that won't get done in the allotted baking time . As for seasoning , use whatever's appropriate for the fruit you're using , same goes for sweetening the fruit itself ...none for canned , your preference for the fresh . Once you figure out your own spin on this recipe , its virtually fool proof !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
So simple and good! My husband and I really enjoyed it. I took it to a family dinner and everyone ate it up. I followed the directions as stated excluding the apples being applied to the batter. I spooned them over the entire batter than baked. Once it came out I made a bread pudding glaze to put over the top! It was EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amm2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
this is great for a beginner baker like me. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parakiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States