Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Loved it, easy to make. Used out of date apples and dark sugar and tasted lovely. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've been looking all over for this recipe. Every time I move the recipe seems to get lost. I learned this recipe when I was cooking in a restaurant; and had to pare it down for at home. For those who complain the apples stayed in the middle, you pour the apples down the center of the pan. I use a glass 13X9 pan. I usually go down one side and up the other as opposed to dumping them in the middle in a pile. That's how I was taught. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream in the restaurant. I also learned to melt the butter in the pan, then add the flour mixture minus the butter, then add the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is an all-star in my recipe box. I've made this many times as stated but today I changed it up a little. Used 1/4 C. butter, 1/4 C. white sugar, 1/2 C. dark brown sugar and added 1/4 C. golden raisins and 1/4 C. dried cranberries. Consistency was more like moist bread pudding & the taste is terrific!!! Love the original recipe and just thought I'd pass along these variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent Apple Pudding, and very easy to put together! I added vanilla essence because I love the stuff, but I followed the recipe besides that and it was great. Thanks Laurie Nanni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is an easy delicious dessert! The pudding stands on its own but the ice cream is a nice addition. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Quick and perfect for that "need a little something" urge. I used half the sugar, and would go less than that even. Added nutmeg to the apples and a teensy tiny bit of more butter. I will do it again, and add the vanilla ice cream like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really amazing. Everyone raved about it and I really loved it too, even though something of this texture is not normally my bag. It is almost like a bread pudding, so the title is appropriate. I used about 2.5 cups granny smith apples and I mixed them throughout the batter. I also mixed in a separate bowl then poured into greased pan. Upon removal from oven, I spread caramel sauce over the top and left it sit for a while. Really, really good. I will definitely make this again. It would be great for a brunch or a breakfsst pot luck. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for this dish - and while the flavour was excellent, the middle of the cake was not cooked thoroughly and the edge was getting overcooked. Next time I make this - and there likely will be a next time given the speed with which you can make this dessert - I will use a larger dish than the "small baking dish" dish called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Simply delicious and so easy! I made this just as the recipe is written and I really enjoyed it. But next time, I think I'll add just a couple drops of vanilla extract and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. I may also add a little extra apple and cinnamon. Anyway, the consistency is wonderful and it kind of just melts in your mouth. Great dessert for the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is delicious, simple, buttery goodness. Ive officially replaced my applecake recipe that Ive used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States