Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Was quite pleased with this one. Is more a coffee cake, but the family gobbled it down with not one complaint. So is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
easy and superb. Definitely spread the apples out. And serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or yogurt. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was so good! Great with vanilla ice cream. The best part is, its so easy to make. And Fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
WOW this one is a sweet tooth's dream. How anyone could call this recipe "bland" is beyond me. Very easy to whip up great with vanilla icecream and butterscotch sauce if you can handle all that sweetness rolled into 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soundwrite01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Wonderful! Used a bread pan and it baked evenly throughout! Used 1-2 tsp. Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, and a 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. Mix the apple mixture evenly throughout the batter...don't just plop it in the center. 2 cups of apples as written is good for a la mode. However, if you prefer to use caramel sauce and/or whipping cream as a topping, you may want to consider 3-4 cups of apples. After the apples are cooked in the microwave, you end up with only 1-1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just made this recipe and I quite like it! I made it exactly as called for in the recipe (wait, no...I added a tsp of vanilla to the batter). It is easy and very yummy and I haven't even added ice cream yet. The only thing I'd change really is the amount of apples. I think next time I'll increase it to 3 cups. Also, I used an 8 x 8 square casserole dish and that was the perfect size. Try this recipe and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Perfect! Simple, classic old-fashioned dessert. A very, very moist pudding cake that is mildly spiced. I mixed the ingredients in a bowl instead of the actual baking dish and then transfered over and distributed the apples evenly over the top. This worked out great and the apples were spread out and in every bite. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel syrup. There were 4 of us here for dinner and all 6 servings were gone by the end of the night. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Loved it, easy to make. Used out of date apples and dark sugar and tasted lovely. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've been looking all over for this recipe. Every time I move the recipe seems to get lost. I learned this recipe when I was cooking in a restaurant; and had to pare it down for at home. For those who complain the apples stayed in the middle, you pour the apples down the center of the pan. I use a glass 13X9 pan. I usually go down one side and up the other as opposed to dumping them in the middle in a pile. That's how I was taught. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream in the restaurant. I also learned to melt the butter in the pan, then add the flour mixture minus the butter, then add the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is an all-star in my recipe box. I've made this many times as stated but today I changed it up a little. Used 1/4 C. butter, 1/4 C. white sugar, 1/2 C. dark brown sugar and added 1/4 C. golden raisins and 1/4 C. dried cranberries. Consistency was more like moist bread pudding & the taste is terrific!!! Love the original recipe and just thought I'd pass along these variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States