Virgin Pina Colada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Considering there was no coconut in this recipe, it tasted pretty good. You should know that it will not taste EXACTLY like a pina colada. Here's what I did to make it taste better: I substituted coconut milk for regular milk. Voila! Also, I had to use more ice to get a thicker texture. The idea of using the heavy whipping cream was brilliant, by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
add some coco loco coconut creme and it is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We doubled this recipe for several of us and it made a big blender-full. We added 4-5 oz of Cream of Coconut and at least 1 cup of pineapple (probably more like 2) and left out the sugar and liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is unbelievable! I used coconut milk instead of milk like some others suggested and it was great. Served this for a girl's night and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Substitute the milk and heavy cream with coconut cream (you should be able to find some in the alcohol mixer aisle of your supermarket) and it tastes very much like the original. I would omit the sugar as the pineapple juice is sweet enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Thanks for the post! We really enjoyed these! I used a cut pineapples for the glasses, which was really cute to serve (like that pic there, great idea)! My guests really thought these were very good and didn't even miss the rum (; My poolboy stopped working and even enjoyed one with us. (;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I rarely give a 5 star since I feel it is for "Thank God for this!" food and is not to be given lightly. This is a true 5 star in taste but the texture was a 4 star as ours were a little thick (maybe the blender actually whipped the whipping cream :) ). Overall, a very good drink I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Instead of using heavy cream, use coconut cream. Buy a can (or two) of full fat coconut milk, refrigerate overnight, open the can from the bottom and drain off thin stuff; open the top and scoop out the cream-YUMMY! - it can legitimately be called a pina colada because there is coconut in there now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I make a similar recipe, but instead of using the heavy cream, I substitute Coffeemate liquid creamer - the coconut creme or Italian sweet cream are the ones I use. Being allergic to coconut - the creamer is a perfect compliment without making me have an allergic reaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mameatsalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States