Virgin Pina Colada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
this is really good, but i've had better virgin pina coladas before. i used coconut milk instead of regular milk, and i had to use heavy whipping cream instead of cream. i feel like this needs a lot more coconut flavor, but still it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattiematilda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eminence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a perfect summer drink! I substituted 1/2 cup of milk for 1/4 cup of coconut milk, to add more of a coconut taste. This drink tastes amazing. You definitely must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Well I saw this recipe and thought that it looked delicious, but I didn't have pineapple juice, milk or heavy whipping cream, so I had to improvise. I used a full cup of cream of coconut, a heaping cup of fresh pineapple chunks, and about 3 to four cups of ice from my ice maker of the fridge, and it was a real treat, I had to immediately make another helping, and although I had to improvise, I'm sure this is just as delicious unimprovised, so I'm saying this gets five stars...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wonderful! I mistakenly bought vanilla coconut milk instead of my normal soy milk and was looking for a way to get rid of it. This made for a fun night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Substitute the milk and heavy cream with coconut cream (you should be able to find some in the alcohol mixer aisle of your supermarket) and it tastes very much like the original. I would omit the sugar as the pineapple juice is sweet enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is delicious! I had fallen in love with Orange Julius' pina colada Julius, and this tastes pretty darn close to that when a little coconut flavoring is added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
It was really good, had a yummy frothy kinda thing at the top which was good :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Instead of using heavy cream, use coconut cream. Buy a can (or two) of full fat coconut milk, refrigerate overnight, open the can from the bottom and drain off thin stuff; open the top and scoop out the cream-YUMMY! - it can legitimately be called a pina colada because there is coconut in there now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Yummy! We replaced the heavy cream with coconut milk for a more tropical taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
being under 21, i have never had a real pina colada. But i have had many virgin Pini's. This one is pretty good, but Just a bit too thin. I do, however, plan to make it again. This would also be a lot better in Summer than Winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adugan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States