Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Splendid! I'm a lemon lover so this was like a god-sent gift to me! I made 5 servings of this, so used 6 lemons, 6 cups water and cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup to suit my taste (and calorie intake ;) ) I peeled the rinds very carefully ensuring not to get any of the white membrane in the peel. The one thing I did different was, that I left the sugar-sprinkled-rinds overnight in a covered bowl on my countertop and continued with the rest of the preparation the following day. No bitterness at all - 1 reviewers suggestion of not disturbing the rinds whilst they're soaking in sugar was a very valuable tip. :) Chilled lemonade with ice has always been my favourite and this recipe has ensured that I remain addicted to it for years to come! =D P.S. My family loves this too! =) Thanks Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Well, my daughter finally likes lemonade now, thanks to this vintage recipe. To me, the recipe as written seems almost more like a concentrate. I added water to my dispenser (1 gallon?) until it was 3/4 full, and I probably could have added even more water. But, it is such a lovely flavor -- neither too sweet nor too sour. Peeling the lemons was a bear, so I'm thinking next time I'll squeeze out the juice while in rind, and then cut up the peels and soak them in sugar. Yummy, yummy -- this will be great for the lemonade stand. Thanks, Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My daughters and I love this recipe! How can you go wrong with a classic?....You can't! Here are the changes I made: I used 9 lemons, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and 1 1/2 quarts of water. I juiced the lemons first and then just added the juiced rinds to a bowl. Other than that...followed exactly. This is my only Lemonade recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This takes a little bit of work and some time to make, but well worth the effort. Just the experience of making old fashioned lemonade was fun. I thought it had a slight bitter taste, but my husband countered that by saying it tastes "real." I would have to agree that it has a very pure, clean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe as is, but thought I could combine it with the Hot Pink Lemonade recipe to get the best of both worlds. While the water boiled I pureed a pint of blueberries. I added them into the rinds, stirred them a bit, then added the water and left to steep. I removed the rinds, added the lemon juice and voila! Hot Pink Vintage Lemonade! I did not increase anything, just added the blueberries. It tastes and looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is how I make lemonade when I have the time. The zest makes it really special. For an extra kick, try adding a few white pepper corns when you heat the water. it adds a demension to the zest that is really, Really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is by far, the best lemonade I have ever tasted! Followed recipe exactly. Avoided stirring the rinds/water/sugar mixture. Just let it steep for the 20 minutes, strained into the pitcher and ... DEEELICIOUS! :) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The taste is worth the effort! I zested the lemons & used half the sugar, then stirred that occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We have a lemon tree in our backyard and since I discovered this recipe last summer, I've made so many batches of lemonade I don't even follow a recipe anymore! This is the best lemonade recipe! Typically, I take 4-5 lemons, peel the rind off a couple of them (I use a potato peeler), place them in a bowl and pour a cup or so of sugar over them. Then I squeeze the lemons and boil however much water looks like is needed to fill my pitcher. When the water has boiled, I put the sugar/rind mixture in a fine strainer, pour the water over it, and then pour the lemon juice into the strainer as well. What I like about this way is that from there, I can season to taste. I can either add more sugar (and because the mixture is still warm, it will dissolve) or more lemon juice, or more warm water from the tap. Once it tastes perfect, I leave it on the counter to cool some and then put it in the fridge to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States