Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Perfect and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome lemonade! I juice the lemons first too. I also do six lemons with 1 extra cup of water - keeping the sugar the same or a little less. Making more than one batch at a time is smart or you will have to repeat the whole process again as soon as you finish off that one pitcher! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Such fun! I enjoyed the process of making this as much as the end result. I did add a quarter cup of fresh blue berries and it came out a really nice color. Later tonight I will be adding grey goose ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Tasted too much of the lemon rinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Splendid! I'm a lemon lover so this was like a god-sent gift to me! I made 5 servings of this, so used 6 lemons, 6 cups water and cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup to suit my taste (and calorie intake ;) ) I peeled the rinds very carefully ensuring not to get any of the white membrane in the peel. The one thing I did different was, that I left the sugar-sprinkled-rinds overnight in a covered bowl on my countertop and continued with the rest of the preparation the following day. No bitterness at all - 1 reviewers suggestion of not disturbing the rinds whilst they're soaking in sugar was a very valuable tip. :) Chilled lemonade with ice has always been my favourite and this recipe has ensured that I remain addicted to it for years to come! =D P.S. My family loves this too! =) Thanks Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Well, my daughter finally likes lemonade now, thanks to this vintage recipe. To me, the recipe as written seems almost more like a concentrate. I added water to my dispenser (1 gallon?) until it was 3/4 full, and I probably could have added even more water. But, it is such a lovely flavor -- neither too sweet nor too sour. Peeling the lemons was a bear, so I'm thinking next time I'll squeeze out the juice while in rind, and then cut up the peels and soak them in sugar. Yummy, yummy -- this will be great for the lemonade stand. Thanks, Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My daughters and I love this recipe! How can you go wrong with a classic?....You can't! Here are the changes I made: I used 9 lemons, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and 1 1/2 quarts of water. I juiced the lemons first and then just added the juiced rinds to a bowl. Other than that...followed exactly. This is my only Lemonade recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This takes a little bit of work and some time to make, but well worth the effort. Just the experience of making old fashioned lemonade was fun. I thought it had a slight bitter taste, but my husband countered that by saying it tastes "real." I would have to agree that it has a very pure, clean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe as is, but thought I could combine it with the Hot Pink Lemonade recipe to get the best of both worlds. While the water boiled I pureed a pint of blueberries. I added them into the rinds, stirred them a bit, then added the water and left to steep. I removed the rinds, added the lemon juice and voila! Hot Pink Vintage Lemonade! I did not increase anything, just added the blueberries. It tastes and looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States