Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Scrumptious! Just like down south. For the reviewers who said it was bitter, try not getting any of the white part of the peel. Only the outside yellow. The sugar pulls the oils and flavor right out of the rind. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
So delicious sometimes, other times it's bitter. We keep trying though because when it's good, it can't be beat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The best lemonade I've ever tasted, hands down. But seriously--DO NOT STIR THE RINDS WITH THE SUGAR. The first time I made it I let it sit and it was perfect. The second time I foolishly gave the rinds and sugar just a tiny little toss toward the end and the lemonade ended up a little bitter. I do use 1/2 to 3/4 cup less sugar but that's my own preference. This recipe will be used a lot in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made this a lot this summer. Very refreshing. I triple the batch so I have plenty on hand since it involves more time than other recipes to make but very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This lemonade is amazing! It is time consuming but well worth the effort! I have also added puréed strawberries to make strawberry lemonade and it was wonderful! The whole family loves this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have made this exactly as it is instruced many times, and loved it. Eventually I played around with the number of lemons (4), and amount of sugar (scant 1 cup) to get it to my personal taste. I have found that when lemons are not on sale, I will switch out a few lemons for a few limes and it is just as wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Terrific! A bit tart, i might add a little more sugar next time, but if you like sour leamonade, this recipe is aWeSoMe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
In my best Scarlett O'Hara voice - I'll never drink powdered again! This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Heaven in a glass. I found this recipe about 2 weeks ago and I have made it every 2 or 3 days since then. People love it and so do I. Follow the directions exactly as written and you will not be disappointed. We are certainly hooked. Perfect for this hot South Carolina weather. Aunt Suzie this is a winner and thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Tasty! After reading through the reviews, I didn't cut out very much of the pith - only where it was especially thick on one lemon. I reduced the sugar to 1C and added a teaspoon of dried lavender. I accidentally added too much water, filling the bowl to almost 2Qts with the lemon, lavender and sugar... and yet, this was fabulous! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States