Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I didn't like the flavor from the rind. I think it would be better to use the zest rather than the entire rind. But, I suppose this is how they used to do it back in the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
i love this recipe! i've made this a couple of times already, and i totally agree with the mods - scrape off the piths, less sugar (~1 cup total) and more water (~1cup more). i also like to throw in some thinly sliced ginger peels (fresh) into the sugar to add a different taste! this recipe takes more time, but it is worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
make sure to pour boiled water over the peels deffinately affects the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
LOVELY recipe- only 4 stars because it really should include instructions to NOT stir the rinds & sugar. It also should advise to minimize the amount of white pith (white inner skin) that you peel off- this is what makes it bitter. Otherwise, this is a sweeeet lemonade-- easily remedied with adding more water if you want a lighter sweetness! I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is THE lemonade recipe, the way to go. It's not really much trouble, but it's DELICIOUS and the perfect blend of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Lovely lemonade. The lemon oil adds extra depth and gives this lemonade a handsome yellow shade without any food coloring. My family went crazy for this when I made it. I absolutely love this recipe. Thanks to reviewers for the tip on not messing with the zest and sugar, they are so RIGHT! Totally recommend this recipe to friends whenever I get the chance! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was so delicious!!! Best and most simple recipe for fresh lemonade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I tried it before it was cooled all the way and I'm really pleased with the flavor. It's intense and far superior to anything I've had at a restaurant! I refuse to make anything from "concentrate" so I thought I'd try and make my favorite drink the old fashioned way. Perfect and just the right kind of flavor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
When I made this, I was looking forward to the lemon oil/lemon rind giving it a nice kick, but the taste was just overpowering. I used the corrrect amount of sugar but it also seemed a bit overly sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This lemaonade is amazing as is. and to make it greater i used 4 lemons and 1 grapefruit, (peel and juice), it makes a great pink lemonade. I have done it with 3 lemons and 2 limes, quite sour but good. and today i used 4 lemones and 2 clementine oranges. yum! AND the rinds that are left over after taken out are good if sprinkled with sugar and let dry a bit, great candied peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States