Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Perfect and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome lemonade! I juice the lemons first too. I also do six lemons with 1 extra cup of water - keeping the sugar the same or a little less. Making more than one batch at a time is smart or you will have to repeat the whole process again as soon as you finish off that one pitcher! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Such fun! I enjoyed the process of making this as much as the end result. I did add a quarter cup of fresh blue berries and it came out a really nice color. Later tonight I will be adding grey goose ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Tasted too much of the lemon rinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Splendid! I'm a lemon lover so this was like a god-sent gift to me! I made 5 servings of this, so used 6 lemons, 6 cups water and cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup to suit my taste (and calorie intake ;) ) I peeled the rinds very carefully ensuring not to get any of the white membrane in the peel. The one thing I did different was, that I left the sugar-sprinkled-rinds overnight in a covered bowl on my countertop and continued with the rest of the preparation the following day. No bitterness at all - 1 reviewers suggestion of not disturbing the rinds whilst they're soaking in sugar was a very valuable tip. :) Chilled lemonade with ice has always been my favourite and this recipe has ensured that I remain addicted to it for years to come! =D P.S. My family loves this too! =) Thanks Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Well, my daughter finally likes lemonade now, thanks to this vintage recipe. To me, the recipe as written seems almost more like a concentrate. I added water to my dispenser (1 gallon?) until it was 3/4 full, and I probably could have added even more water. But, it is such a lovely flavor -- neither too sweet nor too sour. Peeling the lemons was a bear, so I'm thinking next time I'll squeeze out the juice while in rind, and then cut up the peels and soak them in sugar. Yummy, yummy -- this will be great for the lemonade stand. Thanks, Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My daughters and I love this recipe! How can you go wrong with a classic?....You can't! Here are the changes I made: I used 9 lemons, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and 1 1/2 quarts of water. I juiced the lemons first and then just added the juiced rinds to a bowl. Other than that...followed exactly. This is my only Lemonade recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This takes a little bit of work and some time to make, but well worth the effort. Just the experience of making old fashioned lemonade was fun. I thought it had a slight bitter taste, but my husband countered that by saying it tastes "real." I would have to agree that it has a very pure, clean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe as is, but thought I could combine it with the Hot Pink Lemonade recipe to get the best of both worlds. While the water boiled I pureed a pint of blueberries. I added them into the rinds, stirred them a bit, then added the water and left to steep. I removed the rinds, added the lemon juice and voila! Hot Pink Vintage Lemonade! I did not increase anything, just added the blueberries. It tastes and looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States