Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Love this recipe, read the tips and your results are fabulous~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and easy to make! I would cut back the sugar a bit as we like tart lemonade. Make sure you only peel the skin and not the white membrane or it will be bitter...just zest the skin off, it's much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
So Good! Followed directions exactly. I filled the jug I was going to use, and just boiled that much water. A lemon flavor, that's strong enough to swallow without going all "squinty eyed" and enough sugar to make it taste very smooth. Will definitely add it to the list. Have to admit, I played with the sugared rind, and don't notice any bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wow! This is super awesome! I did do things slightly different out of fear for too much lemon flavor. First I used a vegetable peeler to get the rind without the bitter white part. I only let the sugar sit with the rinds for about 20 minutes. Then,after pouring the boiling water over the sugar and rinds, I squeezed the lemons into the hot water. Once I was done squeezing, I didn't wait any longer and strained out the rinds and pulp. End result is smooth, sweet, lemony goodness! Don't be afraid to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
very good lemonade I tried a few of these and this one did turn out the best out of all of them took a little longer and a little more work but was well worth it if you like lemonade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sebastian
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
your lemonade was great but try mine too: 1 lime 2 lemons 20 tsp of sugar 1 cup of water Squeeze the lime and lemons, mix in the sugar and water. Add ice and your drink is ready. it is delicious! Sebastian with a little help from her sister Hanna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is a great recipe. I used more water and more sugar. In all, my family loves the lemonade and I will DEF use it again. Next time I will try pink lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sauce Connoisseur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Best lemonade that can be made in a regular kitchen. It has that "bite" to it that really makes it thirst-quenching for some reason. The chemistry explains it; the oils get carried by the sugar into solution with the juice & water. Every time I serve this to guests, I get compliments and they always want the recipe! Sometimes if lemons are out of season or expensive, I mix this with some frozen to make it go farther. Be careful not to let the sugar/rind mixture sit for more than an hour or you'll end up with bitter lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was fantastic! Great lemon flavor, perfect amount of sweetness. Kids loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious. Just what you want in a lemonade. I followed others suggestions and zested the lemons. After the lemon zest and sugar sat, I piled it on cheesecloth and made a "ball" so that I could drop it in the pitcher, pour water on top and just let it sit for the 20 minutes and then fish it out. Seems to have worked well. Tried when tepid and tastes sweet and tart. We did not add any extra lemon juice - as after you just start to think "way too sweet" you really get a punch of tartness so it got left as is. Seeing as I had the extra lemons on hand in case it wasn't tart enough, I zested the other 6 from the bag and made a lemon simple syrup with the zest, thinking that maybe we could modify this recipe for making 'glass by glass' and easier to keep on hand. Can't wait to drink more tomorrow, after it has chilled and is served over ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States