Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
OMGosh! This lemonade is AWESOME! A teeny bit time consuming...but so worth it. I used a veggie peeler to remove the skin. My only change would be less sugar. Next time I will use only 1 cup. To those who did not like this recipe, maybe it didn't taste like the powdered or frozen mixes you are used to. Try this one again...instant winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is similar to the recipe we use. We don't do the boiling water etc. We use a gallon jar w/a screw lid, squeeze 6 lemons, add a cup of sugar, fill the jug w/ice to the top, and shake for about 20-30 minutes, or let it sit for an hour give or take. Then we fill the jug w/water and remove the rinds. Sometimes we add a wedge of lemon to the glass or just drink it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Excellent! Used10 lemons which made about 1cup of lemon juice. Peeled lemon rinds and put 2 cups of sugar and mixed around a little. So delicious - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I didn't think you could deepen the flavor of a recipe that pretty much had one main ingredient, but it's amazing what a little lemon oil will do! Loved the intensity it brought. My rinds were fairly thin so I just put them cut-side down into a 9x9 Pyrex, layered the sugar on top, then poured the hot water over it when it was time. Because the lemons floated, I flipped them over to not get any of the bitter pith to seep into the mixture and as it sat, the aroma was amazing! Be aware of the size of your lemons too, as well as their tartness. My lemons were small/medium-sized and a not as tart, so I could have added a bit more lemon juice to balance the sugar, or else cut back the sugar a little, but when poured over ice it helped balance the flavors too, and was a wonderfully refreshing drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Great way to use up a huge bag of lemons from Costco. The kids loved this lemonade over ice. For the festive adults at our party, we added a bit of lemon flavored vodka and it was a huge hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Tastes just like Hot Dog And A Stick Lemonade...yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
What a unique way to prepare real lemonade! Hubby and I like a less sweet, more tart lemonade so I decreased sugar to the equivalent of 3 tablespoons per cup rather than the 4 tablespoons per cup as written. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I made this earlier today-it is wonderful,I did read some of the reviews beforehand (thank you all).I peeled just the yellow part,cut small-layered /w/ just 1 cup sugar.Cut the pith off the lemons.Quartered them and ran through my juicer.What took the most time was cutting the peel into 1/2 inch pieces.Next time will use my box grater and shred.We don't drink soda-so this will be a welcome change from Cranberry juice or try mixing them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I didn't care for this recipe. I hate to add a negative review because everyone has different taste buds, but I found this to be so overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I changed nothing besides having very huge lemons, so I only used 3. It turned out awesome poured over ice, in a mason jar of course! Love! Now I just need to do the math so I can serve 100 people! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States