Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe as is, but thought I could combine it with the Hot Pink Lemonade recipe to get the best of both worlds. While the water boiled I pureed a pint of blueberries. I added them into the rinds, stirred them a bit, then added the water and left to steep. I removed the rinds, added the lemon juice and voila! Hot Pink Vintage Lemonade! I did not increase anything, just added the blueberries. It tastes and looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is how I make lemonade when I have the time. The zest makes it really special. For an extra kick, try adding a few white pepper corns when you heat the water. it adds a demension to the zest that is really, Really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is by far, the best lemonade I have ever tasted! Followed recipe exactly. Avoided stirring the rinds/water/sugar mixture. Just let it steep for the 20 minutes, strained into the pitcher and ... DEEELICIOUS! :) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The taste is worth the effort! I zested the lemons & used half the sugar, then stirred that occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We have a lemon tree in our backyard and since I discovered this recipe last summer, I've made so many batches of lemonade I don't even follow a recipe anymore! This is the best lemonade recipe! Typically, I take 4-5 lemons, peel the rind off a couple of them (I use a potato peeler), place them in a bowl and pour a cup or so of sugar over them. Then I squeeze the lemons and boil however much water looks like is needed to fill my pitcher. When the water has boiled, I put the sugar/rind mixture in a fine strainer, pour the water over it, and then pour the lemon juice into the strainer as well. What I like about this way is that from there, I can season to taste. I can either add more sugar (and because the mixture is still warm, it will dissolve) or more lemon juice, or more warm water from the tap. Once it tastes perfect, I leave it on the counter to cool some and then put it in the fridge to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
It takes a lot longer to make than regular lemonade but we thought it was great! I used the potato peeler and peeled only the yellow skin off the lemon. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Most def the best lemonade i have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Hechinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Oh my this was wonderful. This is the only way I will make lemonade from now on. Thanks for sharing this historical recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
In my opinion, it was much too lengthy of a process for something that tasted just"ok" I think next time I will add more lemon and/or water and less sugar, it was kind of on the sweet side and I like more of the lemon flavor to come out in my lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States