Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Best lemonade that can be made in a regular kitchen. It has that "bite" to it that really makes it thirst-quenching for some reason. The chemistry explains it; the oils get carried by the sugar into solution with the juice & water. Every time I serve this to guests, I get compliments and they always want the recipe! Sometimes if lemons are out of season or expensive, I mix this with some frozen to make it go farther. Be careful not to let the sugar/rind mixture sit for more than an hour or you'll end up with bitter lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was fantastic! Great lemon flavor, perfect amount of sweetness. Kids loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious. Just what you want in a lemonade. I followed others suggestions and zested the lemons. After the lemon zest and sugar sat, I piled it on cheesecloth and made a "ball" so that I could drop it in the pitcher, pour water on top and just let it sit for the 20 minutes and then fish it out. Seems to have worked well. Tried when tepid and tastes sweet and tart. We did not add any extra lemon juice - as after you just start to think "way too sweet" you really get a punch of tartness so it got left as is. Seeing as I had the extra lemons on hand in case it wasn't tart enough, I zested the other 6 from the bag and made a lemon simple syrup with the zest, thinking that maybe we could modify this recipe for making 'glass by glass' and easier to keep on hand. Can't wait to drink more tomorrow, after it has chilled and is served over ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
A little time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I just made this and WOW!! It's EXACTLY what I was looking for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wonderful lemonade! Incorporating the flavor from the peels is such a great idea. Instead of peeling the rinds and cutting them into slices, I used a microplane to take just the zest off and mixed that into the sugar. After the sugar is dissolved in the hot water I strain the zest out with a fine mesh strainer. I would recommend not tweeking out and trying to get every last bit of the zest off the peel and to take care to get as little of the white part as possible. The first time I made this I tried to get ALL the zest off and I think it caused me to go over the same area more than once and even that little bit of white part added some bitterness to the end result. I also added a little extra water because the flavor was kind of strong for my taste but that could just be me. Great lemon flavor does lie in the zest and now I can't imagine why I never thought of using it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was fantastic! One other reviewer said to use a veggie peeler on the rinds and this work beautifully. I will make this again with out a doubt. Now I want to experiment and add strawberries or other fruit to it too. BTW I also used the Splenda granulated sugar substitute (not the packets) and it turned out great and lower calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
It was very good; however there was a slight bitterness along with the sweet lemony taste. I'm not sure if that's from the lemons I used, or what...or maybe that's just how it's suppose to taste? It was fun to watch the sugar turn to goop in the lemon rinds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This lemonade is fantastic - some of the best I've ever had. I peeled the lemon rind using a vegetable peeler to avoid getting the pith, then mixed with the sugar. I also boiled only half the water to mix with the sugar and peels, and added ice to the pitcher, so I didn't have to wait for anything to cool. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
The Best lemonade I've ever had!!! And so Simple and cheap to make. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I may never drink store bought lemonade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States