Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Great homemade lemonade recipe! Leaves a very refreshing, cool taste in your mouth. My family loved the now discontinued Kool-Aid flavor "Lemon Ice" which left your mouth feeling cold - this recipe comes very close to that but in a much better way! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
SOOOO GOOD! There are three people in my home (including me), and I had to make two DOUBLE batches in two days because it was so popular! Two extra things that I did that seemed to make it even yummier was instead of just laying the rinds in the sugar, I mashed them into the sugar with a mallet for a minute or two. That REALLY got the sugar into the rinds to pick up the oils. Also, instead of squeezing the juice out of the lemons I simply tossed the slices into a blender...then strained it. That way, none of the seeds got through, but you got the maximum amount of juice! I love this recipe...YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Okay, okay how bout we name this pucker up lemonade cause that is exactly what you do when you drink it. This stuff is incredible, only problem I see with it is I need a lemon tree to make enough so that it will last. After reading the reviews I elected to juice the lemons first, sugar them, let em sit outside for 60 mins, poured the boiling water waited 20 mins, and BAM I had pucker up lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonda roark-martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was wonderful! We loved it! I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing. Update: I have made this several times, and it has been delicous every single time. My husband says it is enough to get a marriage proposal out of a man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
As others did, I peeled fruit with a vegetable peeler to get as little of the white as possible. Used a couple small limes as well as one orange because I didn't have enough lemons. Absolutely AMAZING citrus fragrance after the sugar sat with the peel (covered the bowl w/plastic wrap and it was sheer ambrosia peeling that plastic back)! I reduced the sugar as some others suggested: used 1 cup of sugar but next time would increase to 1 1/4 cups - it was just not quite sweet enough for me. It had amazing yellow color also~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This was awesome. I doubled the recipe and used 12 small lemons (which yielded 1-1/2 cups of lemon juice). I also zested my lemons with a microplane grater and mixed the zest in with the sugar instead of using the whole peels. I strained it using a fine mesh strainer lined with coffee filters to make sure I kept all the zest out of the lemonade. This got rave reviews from everyone. Tart and sweet, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Amazing! Had it at my July 4th party earlier this year and I didn't quite make enough for the demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
very good! tart,but sweet and tolerable. Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I don't get why everyone else loves this so much! It's not good. I used only the lemon zest to make it less bitter, but to no avail. After making this I asked myself, "Why didn't I just make lemonade from frozen concentrate? It's much easier and tastes much better."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
this is excellent bee making it for a tear and a half very good next time i will try to peel the zest see how that is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States