Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Refreshing drink, especially on a hot day. I used stevia rather than sugar. Will certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
For all the people who said this is bitter you do not want the white part of the rind. A microplane works great to get just the yellow zest and that is where all the flavor is. It allows all the oils to release into the suger and the into the simple syurp you are making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I came across this recipe and thought it was totally unique, I had lemons I needed to use and glad I made this recipe. I instantly doubled the batch for my thirsty broad. Peeling the 1st patch I quickly wondered if using a zester what easier and would eliminate a step by slicing the peel in the 2nd step. I tried it and it was just as much work as doing it the way it was written. But either way, the zester works just as good. Little hard on the wrist. But all in all I followed the recipe to the T and it was quite refreshing and light, the how smelled nicely of lemons for a bit. And my kids drank it all up. It was worth just trying because of the different way this was made. I did strain out the lemon peel and the pulp because of the kiddos. Thank you for sharing such a nice recipe. I will be trying this again with a sugar free way with Splenda for my benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
WOW this is great lemonade. I used a lemon zest tool to peel off only the zest. After an hour with the sugar I put the lemon zest, sugar and about 4 cups of hot water into a small sauce pan and let is simmer for about 15 min. followed rest of recipe as is. So good my husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Seems like this has potential but it turned out too bitter for my liking, I used the whole lemon as the recipe calls for and not just the zest. Will try this again with just the lemon zest and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
It was really good! I love this recipe and it's pretty easy compared to some more complicated ones! Unfortunately I didn't have enough lemons for a whole pitcher, i only had one, but I added some lemon juice and it tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
So good. I couldn't resist the urge to stir the lemon rinds in the hot water and it turned out fine. I used lemons that a woman from work brought me from her tree. I think I will use about a quarter to a half a cup less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is the best fresh lemonade I have ever made! I've already made it three times in the same amount of weeks. I do add a little bit more sugar as a personal preference. It has the perfect amount of sweet vs tart. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbrusilow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was delicious. I more than doubled the recipe for a picnic and it turned out great. The only tedious thing was peeling the lemons to get the rinds off. While they were marinating in the sugar, I ran the lemons through my juicer. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I ended up using the same proportions and it was perfect combination of tart and sweet, and it was strong but I didn't feel the need to water it down any more. I only take off a star because it is a bit of a hassle. To avoid the bitter white part, I just zested the lemons because cutting only the yellow part of the peel was too difficult. I'd say zest the lemons, then squeeze them. Then strain in a fine sieve to get all the peel out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States