Vintage Cheese And Crabmeat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was good, but I though it was missing something. I even added a little touch of Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious... Perfect for a rainy evening with some classic 1940's films.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
WOW!!! This was delicious. Very rich and indulgent. I halved the recipie because husband will not eat it, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a good starting point but I felt it needed more so I added some soy sauce, a small can of corn, onion powder, old bay and seasoned salt (took some ideas from other recipes on this site). And it turned out really good. I also increased the roux because we like our soup more like chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was very quick and easy to make. I added added extra ingredients, corn, celery etc. I used Swiss cheese as it adds to the flavor and would recommend more than just a dash of hot sauce (preferably with good flavor). It is a good recipe and very easy but I would recommend “spicing it up” a bit, to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
My family didn't like it. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was wonderful! I made a few changes for personal preference: we like very thick soups, so I doubled the flour & butter mixture. I also cooked the roux for about 2 minutes, stirring the whole time, because most of my other recipes using a roux call for that before adding the milk. I also substituted a full one-pound can of refrigerated claw crabmeat, because it's what I had on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Tasted good, but it took a LONG time to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I followed it to the letter but the cheese separated and the consistancy was all wrong. I had to add more hot sauce just to get a flavor out of this. Probably wont make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Really good and quick! I added a can of tiny shrimp. Impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States