Vinegar Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Decent. It tastes odd; not bad, just odd. I won't be repeating this, but if you want the vinegar taffy taste, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This taffy tasted DELICIOUS!!! But don't let the title deter you. You can not even taste the vinegar! This was my first time making any kind of candy, but it worked perfectly. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Awesome tasting but hard to pull. We did it but I'm not sure we did it right, which I know is really our fault not the recipe's. We used red wine vinegar which tasted amazing but gave it the color of raw chicken. Lol we will color it next time. I'll get online to research pulling taffy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I just made this with 80 high school chemistry students before X'mas and they all loved it. The kids had a blast pulling the taffy, and it came out delicious. We either added lemon extract or vanilla. The taffy with lemon extract added tasted just like lemon taffy and the ones with vanilla tasted like vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have made candies and taffies before but even after 2 attempts, this candy ''globs'' together. The second attempt I brought it up to hard ball stage to try and get it to harden , still a giant glob was found the next day...I used pure cane sugar. I am at a loss. This is December in Canada weather can't explain the results either.... The 2 stars is for the taste that is lovely (tangy like citrus candy) just like candies from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I first found this in my grandmas Jiffy CookBook. I used to make this as a kid. Love it, glad it was posted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was my first time making taffy so easy. :0) The pulling part hurt but next time I will use a hook to pull it for longer. I needed to pull it for a longer time. still very yummy. Thank you :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! Just like my grandpa used to make...Just a personal opinion if you want a different flavor use a different vinegar like raspberry vinegar (My favorite is Apple Cider Vinegar) don't add any flavoring. This is VINEGAR taffy not salt water taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
for some reason mine turned up like apple sauce. the directions should have been more specific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This turned out pretty good for me. The taffy turned out a little firm but VERY chewy after you give it a minute. I should have known that the vinegar DOES leave a taste which will affect some flavors. I choose peppermint as my flavor, but the vinegar gave it a kinda fruity taste with only a hint of the mint, it's really weird but good. (maybe I didn't use enough peppermint?) My taffy didn't exactly turn "white and porous" either. It became a little lighter in color and started to shine as I kept pulling it. This is quite a bit of a workout if you decide to pull the taffy alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States