Vinegar Pickled Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These are a really, really good tangy finger food. I used baby carrots, quartered lengthwise & served them on a tray with Jean's Marinated Mushrooms, Deviled Eggs & Cream Cheese Pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Easy to make and stayed mostly crisp. Worked well with ziplock bag in the fridge. (course had to prop up so it didn't leak ;) Rave reviews from the tudor feast I did this for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
We have a 20 acre part of our ranch planted in baby carrots. I have been frantic to find different ways to prepare them. These were just Great! I used very tiny whole carrots. They had a spicy tangy,which was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Super taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIANE77346
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is a very good snack - used Splenda instead of sugar and added pepperoncini and dried dill weed. A small sack of baby carrots filled a quart and the liquid was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have used this type of recipe with some variations. I add cauliflower, red pepper strips,red onion, celery and toss in some black peppercorns along with the carrots. It is more economical to do this than to purchase Giardiniera. I use dishwasher cleaned pickle bottles, etc. Always a hit on a relish tray for a covered dish affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I read the reviews and added some dill weed and used a spicy sea salt mixture I had, added some pepperonicini rings and let marinate for 24 hours. Very tasty. I am going to make more and add celery and red pepper flakes for a spicy kick and give out for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This worked out great, I added celery and yellow pepper to the mix and a good tablespoon of hot sauce. I let it ferment in the refridgerator for about two weeks. The vegies all stayed crisped and have a wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe and the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springer-Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delicious! I made mine with a few sprigs of fresh dill in the jar, and they turned out great. I also put in a few slices of red pepper and celery. I first tasted them after 24 hours and I agree that they tasted too "vinegary", but after a few more days in the fridge they were really really good. I'll make a much bigger batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
It was nice to find a vinegar pickle recipe that could be easily adapted. It seems the fewer the steps and ingredients the more room to experiment. After completing the recipe, I couldn't wait the 12 hours. Five hours in I can say I'm thrilled. So much so I'm chewing while typing. I eat, blend, juice, quite a number of vegetables so I used some "crunchy" vegetables that I had available. I like it spicy so in went the last Serrano pepper. Have fun everyone experimenting and finding out what you prefer, there's plenty of reviews to help you out. For me, it's a thanks to Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States