Vinegar Pickled Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Similar but not as tasty as mine... I use equal parts (2 cups) water and vinegar. 1/4 cup of sugar, add 2 teaspoons of pickling (brisket) spices, 1/2 tsp of salt, no pepper and blanch the carrots. This brine is also excellent for picked beets and pickled watermelon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Shumski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIANE77346
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is a very good snack - used Splenda instead of sugar and added pepperoncini and dried dill weed. A small sack of baby carrots filled a quart and the liquid was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These are a really, really good tangy finger food. I used baby carrots, quartered lengthwise & served them on a tray with Jean's Marinated Mushrooms, Deviled Eggs & Cream Cheese Pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Good recipe. You have to be very careful about how you slice your carrots and other veggies versus how long you marinate them in the vinegar mixture. After about 24 hours, thinly sliced zuccini and radishes turned out wonderful in this marinade. However, shredded carrots were REALLY vinegary, and 1/4" carrot slices were kind of bland. So monitor you pickles closely for flavor. Also, I did not think the recipe made enough marinade for the number of carrots, so I would suggest doubling the recipe to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have used this type of recipe with some variations. I add cauliflower, red pepper strips,red onion, celery and toss in some black peppercorns along with the carrots. It is more economical to do this than to purchase Giardiniera. I use dishwasher cleaned pickle bottles, etc. Always a hit on a relish tray for a covered dish affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
We have a 20 acre part of our ranch planted in baby carrots. I have been frantic to find different ways to prepare them. These were just Great! I used very tiny whole carrots. They had a spicy tangy,which was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These carrots are delicious! To make them spicy I added some garlic, sliced jalapenos and red pepper flakes. I have had several requests for this very easy to make and tasty recipe. I also added in some cauliflower for some color and they taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
too much vinegar, these just didn't work at all. there was no "pickle" like bite, just Vinegar bite. Followed instructions exactly, and it just didn't work out. Maybe the planets weren't aligned properly or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Recipe was easy to make - I used a 1 lb bag of baby carrots and it worked well, carrots were tangy and nice and crisp. I think some additional seasoning would be nice, but I'm not sure what I'd add. Everyone else thought they were good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Super taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States