Vinegar Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was delicious! The perfect sweetness! It made a thinner pie than I expected, but it tasted perfect and looked great (even though I accidentally overbaked it!). Thanks for this extremely simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe, it is an old recipe and exact one that i got from a neighbor...no reason to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've been looking for this recipe. It also makes a great pudding. Bake it without a crust and, yes, spoon out the portions. I never measured the pecans. When the pie/pudding looked as if it had enough pecans, I stopped adding them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This is really good because it isn't so sweet. The only thing I would do is chop the pecans a little. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really liked this. I was actually looking for an "oatmeal" pie but couldn't find quite the right thing. A lot of them had corn syrup which I didn't have and the one's that didn't usually had coconut which I also didn't have. I was going to try a different pecan pie recipe that didn't have corn syrup and just substitute oatmeal for the pecans but then I saw this one and was curious about it because it has less sugar in it. So I tried it with oatmeal instead of pecans and it came out really good. It had a nice mildly sweet flavor and the oats were nice and chewey. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was amazed at how nice this pie is. I used 1 full cup of pecans, and that was my only change. The filling was not super sweet but still wonderful. This pie was all about the pecans, and not the syrupy custard that most pecan pies have. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I just made this for desert at my firehouse. EVERYONE loved it, it is not super sweet like other pecan pies are. I did however change a couple things, doubled the amount of vanilla and pecans, after all, it is pecan pie. This will definatly be my new standard pie recipe, seriously, everyone should make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I have some diabetic friends and i altered this recipe for them. I use Splenda instead of sugar. I look kind of weird but, it came out great! They absolutely love it! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I've made this pie every Thanksgiving for the last 3 years. My family asks for it each year. It isn't too sweet like a lot of other pecan pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Thank goodness that I found this recipe again!!! I used this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and forgot to save it to my recipe box. I had to search for it using the vinegar as an ingredient I wanted and corn syrup as one I didn't. This was one of the two very first pies I've ever made and it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe to a tee with no alterations. It's sweet but not an overkill on the sweet-tooth like most pecan pies. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States