Vinegar Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was amazed at how nice this pie is. I used 1 full cup of pecans, and that was my only change. The filling was not super sweet but still wonderful. This pie was all about the pecans, and not the syrupy custard that most pecan pies have. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
OK...beware!!! You HAVE to use WHITE VINEGAR in this recipe. I only had Apple Cider Vinegar on hand & ewww yuck, what a mess! The mixture curdled while mixing it up. Then after baking an hour it still reeked of vinegar smell. Then a test taste made me throw it away:( I will try this one again with white vinegar as a friend told me that the apple cider variety IS the reason mine curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This is really good because it isn't so sweet. The only thing I would do is chop the pecans a little. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
corn syrup is *so* sweet, and i don't happen to keep it in my pantry because i never use it. so in finding this recipe, i had to try it. WOW!! this is such an easy and quick recipe, and sooo good. the "pie" came out custard-y, just the right sweetness and light. not at all the heavy, greasy, gut bomb pecan pies can sometimes be. well worth trying, even if you wrinkle your nose at the vinegar. my tweaks to the recipe: used light brown sugar instead of the white sugar, upped the vanilla a half a teaspoon, added a couple dashes of cinnamon, and melted the butter before mixing with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My modifications:..... 1. Added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar 2. Added another tsp. of vanilla 3. Doubled pecans. Toasted, lightly......... What I'd do next time:..... Keep mods 1 & 2. Add only 1/4 cup extra pecans and would chop them real fine. There's not enough filling and what filling there is is just too light and fluffy to handle many more pecans, imho...... Even if you don't add more pecans, chop those puppys fine. :o) I didn't and cutting slices was impossible. A wreck. I had to spoon it........ Nice flavor with mods 1 & 2. Very simple and fast recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I just made this for desert at my firehouse. EVERYONE loved it, it is not super sweet like other pecan pies are. I did however change a couple things, doubled the amount of vanilla and pecans, after all, it is pecan pie. This will definatly be my new standard pie recipe, seriously, everyone should make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Thank goodness that I found this recipe again!!! I used this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and forgot to save it to my recipe box. I had to search for it using the vinegar as an ingredient I wanted and corn syrup as one I didn't. This was one of the two very first pies I've ever made and it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe to a tee with no alterations. It's sweet but not an overkill on the sweet-tooth like most pecan pies. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I have some diabetic friends and i altered this recipe for them. I use Splenda instead of sugar. I look kind of weird but, it came out great! They absolutely love it! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really liked this. I was actually looking for an "oatmeal" pie but couldn't find quite the right thing. A lot of them had corn syrup which I didn't have and the one's that didn't usually had coconut which I also didn't have. I was going to try a different pecan pie recipe that didn't have corn syrup and just substitute oatmeal for the pecans but then I saw this one and was curious about it because it has less sugar in it. So I tried it with oatmeal instead of pecans and it came out really good. It had a nice mildly sweet flavor and the oats were nice and chewey. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This pie was really yummy.It is far from the pecan pie I usually make with the corn syrup.I didn't have any corn syrup on hand so I chose this recipe.For my taste it could have been a little sweeter but still it was very good.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States