Vinegar Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Sorry, I really wanted this to be great. I used white vinegar and it curdled it. I used butter instead of margarine (maybe that is the problem but at this point, only one other person had a problem with this so I am guessing it's not the cause. I had to make another half recipe just to fill my pie dish and it was still a bit shy. This is in the oven right now and I am not hopeful. FYI: I used Heize White Vinegar. I will post again after I try it. Advice: Don't try this for a holiday, just to be safe. Being that so many liked it, do try it but don't put yourself in a must-be-delicious situation. It will make you nuts if it flops. I should've known better than to try something new on a special occasion. Just a reminder......so should you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I absolutely love this pecan pie! It's not sickening sweet. I use part Splenda when I make it, so that it is more diabetic friendly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This pie was a hit! I needed a last minute recipe for pecan pie but didn't have corn syrup. My guests said it tasted better than the corn syrup pies. I only had a deep dish pie crust so it didn't fill it but would have worked fine with the regular crust (or double the filling to use the deep dish crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I love this recipe, thank you for this site, I am away from home and my husband has asked for pecan pie. Of course my recipe is at home and I was able to find it here. I always chop the pecans small and use one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've been looking for this recipe. It also makes a great pudding. Bake it without a crust and, yes, spoon out the portions. I never measured the pecans. When the pie/pudding looked as if it had enough pecans, I stopped adding them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this and it didnt set up. Its a pie shell full of syrup. What went wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yosemite987

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Luxemburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe, it is an old recipe and exact one that i got from a neighbor...no reason to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was amazed at how nice this pie is. I used 1 full cup of pecans, and that was my only change. The filling was not super sweet but still wonderful. This pie was all about the pecans, and not the syrupy custard that most pecan pies have. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really liked this. I was actually looking for an "oatmeal" pie but couldn't find quite the right thing. A lot of them had corn syrup which I didn't have and the one's that didn't usually had coconut which I also didn't have. I was going to try a different pecan pie recipe that didn't have corn syrup and just substitute oatmeal for the pecans but then I saw this one and was curious about it because it has less sugar in it. So I tried it with oatmeal instead of pecans and it came out really good. It had a nice mildly sweet flavor and the oats were nice and chewey. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My modifications:..... 1. Added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar 2. Added another tsp. of vanilla 3. Doubled pecans. Toasted, lightly......... What I'd do next time:..... Keep mods 1 & 2. Add only 1/4 cup extra pecans and would chop them real fine. There's not enough filling and what filling there is is just too light and fluffy to handle many more pecans, imho...... Even if you don't add more pecans, chop those puppys fine. :o) I didn't and cutting slices was impossible. A wreck. I had to spoon it........ Nice flavor with mods 1 & 2. Very simple and fast recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States