Vinegar and Egg Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was leery of the crust ingrediets, I worried over nothing, the crust on my pies have to be, hands down, the best I've had, they browned beautifully and were so flaky. I found the crust a little difficult to handle, it tore easily but patching didn't hurt it a bit. This crust recipe is well worth the effort, I won't bother with other crust recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is also my Mom's "secret" pie crust recipe, and it is the best crust I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is the best crust ever. My Mom thought is was store bought. But knew it couldn't be because the top crust was less than perfect. It is hard to work with. But well worth it. Know everyone thinks I should start baking on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This a very easy to make. I made a chicken pot pie with this crust. I also made an apple pie with a glazed topping and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This crust was incredible with "Apple Pie by Grandma Opel" by MOSHASMAMA. It worked great, I just followed the directions and didn't even freeze the shortning or anything. My 3 year old took a little bit and worked it over and over and over, as only a 3 year old can, and when I eventually rolled it out and baked it with cinnamon sugar, it was still incredible. The texture is so addicting. It's amazing. It's a different kind of flaky than the traditional pie recipe delivers. It's more of a melt-in-your-mouth kind of flaky. It's wonderful! I did brush the bottom with egg white before adding pie filling. I don't know whether it made a big difference, but the end result was absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
By far - my favorite crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
EXCELLENT TO WORK WITH, DOES'T FALL APART WHEN HANDLING. CAN BE OVERWORKED MORE THAN STANDARD CRUSTS WITHOUT RISK OF TOUGHENING. VERY FLAKY WHEN BAKED, AND THE BOTTOM CRUST BROWNS WITHOUT FAIL. THIS IS THE ONLY CRUST RECIPE I USE, AND PEOPLE WHO HAVE TASTED MY PIES RAVE AND ASK ME FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my absolute favorite pie crust recipe. It always works out perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
this was my first time making homemade pie crust, so my 5 star rating is based solely on the taste - it was delicious. however, it didn't hold together at all when we sliced the apple pie. it was like having apple crumble! but i'm blaming that on operator error - like i said, this was my first time ever making pie crust so i think i rolled it too thin. it wasn't too sticky and it wasn't overly difficult to work with (and trust me, as a 1st timer, i was nervous!) but, the taste was excellent and i will give this another shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is my favorite new crust recipe. I did change it a bit because I like both butter (3/4 cup) and (1/2 cup) shortening. I also added a teaspoon of sugar. I blind baked it @ 450 for 8 min. with weights & then remove the weights for 5 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States