Vinegar and Egg Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Wow!! Super easy pie crust recipe. For those who think it is hard to work with, after you mix, dump into a ziplock back, mush it all together in one lump and refridgerate it for 1 hour and it is super easy to work with after it cools. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is practically a no-fail pie crust recipe, although I agree with a previous reviewer that you have to be careful not to overwork it. I get three single crusts from this recipe. My tweak is that I use 1.5 cups of shortening (or a mixture of shortening and butter) to 3 cups of flour, and increase the vinegar to 1 tablespoon. Sometimes I'll even add in a 1/4 tsp of baking powder per cup of flour, I find that makes it even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
EXCELLENT TO WORK WITH, DOES'T FALL APART WHEN HANDLING. CAN BE OVERWORKED MORE THAN STANDARD CRUSTS WITHOUT RISK OF TOUGHENING. VERY FLAKY WHEN BAKED, AND THE BOTTOM CRUST BROWNS WITHOUT FAIL. THIS IS THE ONLY CRUST RECIPE I USE, AND PEOPLE WHO HAVE TASTED MY PIES RAVE AND ASK ME FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is my favorite new crust recipe. I did change it a bit because I like both butter (3/4 cup) and (1/2 cup) shortening. I also added a teaspoon of sugar. I blind baked it @ 450 for 8 min. with weights & then remove the weights for 5 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This crust was incredible with "Apple Pie by Grandma Opel" by MOSHASMAMA. It worked great, I just followed the directions and didn't even freeze the shortning or anything. My 3 year old took a little bit and worked it over and over and over, as only a 3 year old can, and when I eventually rolled it out and baked it with cinnamon sugar, it was still incredible. The texture is so addicting. It's amazing. It's a different kind of flaky than the traditional pie recipe delivers. It's more of a melt-in-your-mouth kind of flaky. It's wonderful! I did brush the bottom with egg white before adding pie filling. I don't know whether it made a big difference, but the end result was absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was leery of the crust ingrediets, I worried over nothing, the crust on my pies have to be, hands down, the best I've had, they browned beautifully and were so flaky. I found the crust a little difficult to handle, it tore easily but patching didn't hurt it a bit. This crust recipe is well worth the effort, I won't bother with other crust recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
By far - my favorite crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This will wait in the frig for weeks. Much better than ready made crust. I roll mine out between sheets of wax paper instead of a floured board
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is really flaky and delicious. I happened upon this recipe by accident and decided to give it a try. You definitely won't need all the liquid. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Used this today for a strawberry pie crust. Makes two 10 inch crusts, one I froze. It was very sticky, so sandwiched it between 2 sheets of floured wax paper to roll it. worked great. Needs chilling at least 30 min before rolling. Please do not use your hands to mix but the wax paper to mound it into 2 balls, the heat from your hands will cause the fat to melt and be tough, have your fat, water and eggs cold when you use them This was a good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States