Vinegar and Egg Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I was digging around in my recipe box and realized I was missing my great aunt's pie dough recipe. How happy I was to find it listed here! This is a no-fail recipe, and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is the best pie crust ever! I have been praised for my pies for over 40 years using a recipe from a Housekeeping Magazine from the 70's! This one beats them all!!! It was incredibly easy to handle and so quick! I used lard instead of shortening but changed nothing else. I have always used a hand mixer to blend my flour, salt and shortening to the "pea" texture but for this I used my food processor. Then I emptied the dry ingredients into a large bowl. mixed the egg, water and vinegar in the food processor for about 20 sec. and added it to the flour mix. I could not believe it. I made 4 pie shells this time and they were beautiful! Baked in my convection oven at 375 for 11 min. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
They most amazing fool proof flaky tender crust I have ever made! Its comes out perfect everytime I use this recipe and now I dont use any other pie crust recipes but this one! It wont let you down for either a sweet treat or a aavory dinner pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I am VERY picky about pie crusts. I refused to consider making one since I consider it an art to master and not something that you can just DO. Clearly, I was wrong. This is my first pie crust and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Don't remember
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This will wait in the frig for weeks. Much better than ready made crust. I roll mine out between sheets of wax paper instead of a floured board
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is really flaky and delicious. I happened upon this recipe by accident and decided to give it a try. You definitely won't need all the liquid. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Used this today for a strawberry pie crust. Makes two 10 inch crusts, one I froze. It was very sticky, so sandwiched it between 2 sheets of floured wax paper to roll it. worked great. Needs chilling at least 30 min before rolling. Please do not use your hands to mix but the wax paper to mound it into 2 balls, the heat from your hands will cause the fat to melt and be tough, have your fat, water and eggs cold when you use them This was a good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I think this was pretty good. Very flaky! I think I"ll add a little sugar next time or something cuz I think it could use a little more sweetness. I'll definitely use this one again, though. Oh, it is extremely difficult to work with but it is still worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is my favorite new crust recipe. I did change it a bit because I like both butter (3/4 cup) and (1/2 cup) shortening. I also added a teaspoon of sugar. I blind baked it @ 450 for 8 min. with weights & then remove the weights for 5 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States