Vinegar and Egg Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dcorbin
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcorbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Delicious and flaky! It was my first pie crust from scratch! I had problems with rolling it out and transferring it - it's so tender it tears easily - but once I finally got it in the pie plate, it was fine. Next time I make it, I am going to add a little sugar to the dough but otherwise was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I've tried many recipes and this is one of the best. However, NEVER use shortening as this is a brick of hydrogenated oil. Use lard. No it's not "healthy", but it is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I had such high hopes for this crust. I'm not a novice at pie making by any means, been making excellent pies for many years. Thought I'd try a new crust recipe and I don't know what I did wrong but it was a huge mess. It wouldn't roll out no matter what I did. I had to press it into the pie plate by hand then make small flat patties and laid them on top the filling. It tasted really good and was very flaky but I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This pastry worked really well for me. I followed the recipe's advice to roll between 2 sheets of waxed paper, and also other reviewers' suggestions to chill in fridge first and sub in some butter for the shortening (I used 3/4 c shortening, 1/2 c butter). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This pie crust is AMAZING! I get compliments about it all of the time. I found the egg and vinegar weird ingredients. However once the pie is baked, you would never know that you added vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is my Go-To pie crust recipe! It always comes out light and flaky. Works well with pumpkin (try it with allrecipes Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie recipe), apple, berry and quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is the BEST crust! I have never been able to make a crust that is flaky, buttery and not doughy. My husband is still raving about this. I used this crust to make chicken pot pies in mini loaf pans. YUM! The only change I made, based on other reviews, was to use 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortening. I wanted a bit of a buttery crust and that was easily achieved. Love, love, love it!! Thank you for sharing! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved this crust!! I used all Whole Wheat Flour and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Igot this from a college friend over 40 years ago-she called it never fail pie crust. I still use it for all my pies and it has never failed me. Smells great when cooking tastes wonderfully, freezes well. I get at least 3 9" shells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States