Vincente's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was OK. Admittedly, I always sub low fat alternatives. That said, my kids ate their servings. My daughter commented that she did not like the texture, as it wasn't real creamy. Still, both kids ate it, and it's not box mix. Thank you for sharing. BTW my lowfat version had 289 calories, 13 Total Fat, 8 Sat Fat, 14 protein, 29 Carb per MyFitnessPal.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was very good. It was not quite what I expected but that was my fault for not using more flavorful cheese (I only had colby jack and mozzarella on hand). I can only imagine how good it will taste with sharp cheddar or pepper jack! I also appreciated the tip for making roux sauce. I would have just poured it all in the pan! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is one of my favorite ways to make macaroni and cheese. I like to used extra sharp WHITE cheddar when I make this recipe and add just a touch of hot sauce and black pepper. NOTE: If you are worried about the sauce being too thin, you can undercook the pasta just a touch and pour the macaroni cheese ingredients into a baking dish and bake for twenty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
The sauce is very creamy and good. For anyone who doesn't know, the trick to making a roux sauce is to ensure you really stir the flour into the butter mixture, and add about 1/4 cup of the milk at a time, stirring until it is quite thick...THEN adding more. I added veggies and some italian seasoning and it was lovely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
add more flavorful cheese next time - hvitost is not flavorful enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Great simple recipe! I like to try different kinds of cheese for variation, but the recipe as written is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I did not like the original recipe at all. It was like a cheese gravy with macaroni noodles swimming in it. I added an additional 1/2 cup of macaroni, and added extra cheese to thicken it up. This recipe is not my ideal mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I loved the look of this recipe before I started it. It was relatively easy. I liked the "different" flavor the mustard gave it. Wayyyyyyyy too much onion for me, but that is to do with personal preference, I expect. If you are a "really cheesy" person, I would add a lil less milk and more cheese..or at least more cheese. My two cents! I'll probably make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I tried that with steak (adding mixed pepper) along with macaroni, and my family totally loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great basic recipe. I love the simplicity! I love the fact that there is only one type of cheese. Sometimes, less is more and this is one of those times. Mac and cheese is a classic and should not be complicated with too many ingredients. The onion gives it nice flavor as does the mustard. If someone wants to have some additional flavor, just put some seasoned breadcrumbs on top! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States