Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is a beautiful soup; I agree with the other reviewer in that it seems to have cross-bred with Thai laksa! I reduced the amount of curry and chili for the children's sakes, and it was just right. The only thing is that the cooking times on the recipe don't do it justice! AllRecipes puts this soup as being ready in two hours, but that's way, way off. Mine was done in under 40 minutes, and that included frying my own tofu! A very quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Definitelly a great soup. I prefered the stew version suggested by Thu Nguyen. And I reduced the curry amount just a bit (apparently I'm a little whimpy when it comes to curry. But everything turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
this was really good! The friend I served it to said I should cook more often -- little do they know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was delicious - fragrant and creamy. I followed the suggestion of reducing the water and broth by half to make it more creamy and stew-like, rather than like a soup. I did make some changes: used two tbls. of Madras curry powder and two tbls. of Thai red curry paste, instead of the 4 tbls. of curry powder. Didn't add the red pepper flakes and substituted reduced sodium soy sauce for the fish sauce. Added one large sweet potato instead of the 8 regular potatoes and used lite coconut milk...still creamy and delicious! I let it simmer for about 1.5 - 2 hours and the house smelled so good! The directions didn't specify when to add the kaffir lime leaves and bay leaf, so I threw them in right before I started the "simmer" process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was great! I made it for my roomates and a few friends that came over. Everyone loved it and it was very filling. I could not find some of the ingredents so I improvised. I used green onions instead of Shallots (one whole bunch), I alos used lime zest and juice instead of the kaffir lime leaves, and I used lemon juice instead of the lemon grass. I also used soy sauce instead of the fish sauce. The soy sause really gave it a distinct flavor. I didn't fry my tofu and it still tasted great. I used one reviewers suggestion and used sweet potato intead of regular patatos and it tasted great. The bean sprouts and cilantro added on top was wonderful it added a new texture and taste. Great recipe I will definatly keep this in the recipe box and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Fantastic! I used the full amount of water/broth and still found this to be a thick soup. I didn't fry the tofu and used a lemongrass paste instead of fresh lemongrass; both were fine. Add lots of extra red pepper if you like it spicy. Skip the bean sprouts, but don't skip the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
A fine curry stew. I didnt have kaffir lime leaves or lemon grass so I substituted lemon and lime zest, I'm sure its not up to par, but it worked out anyway. I would, however, suggest using more coconut milk, a tablespoon of sugar, and some much needed salt. Otherwise, A+ all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
this was so fun to make! i had to go to special stores to get the lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Great soup. Very flavorful. We used lime juice and zest which added another layer of flavor. I would also add more coconut milk but I did use low fat so that may have made a difference. Made it with a vietnamese rice vermicelli salad. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe. I like to serve it over some rice, or Vietnamese rice noodles, though it's also a meal all its own. I was searching for a Vietnamese Curry Soup that would replicate the one at the Saigon restaurant in Santa Fe - but this soup is even better than theirs! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States