Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Good, but I made a lot of revisions to it to make it more like my mom's recipe :) I didn't use any shallots, skipped the kefir leaf, used a red bell pepper instead of green, used 4 carrots intead of 2, 4c chicken broth, no water, no fish sauce or pepper flakes, 3 bay leaves instead of 1, 4 medium potatoes and 1 sweet potato instead of the 8 small ones, and 2 cans coconut milk. I also added some salt and some Sriracha to taste. Delicious! My boyfriend is a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very Delicious! I cut back 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaves, so I squeezed one fresh lemon juice. Added 1 (16 oz) can of chunky pineapple with a side dish of white rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I'm not sure where I went wrong. I followed this recipe almost to the letter, however it ended up very watery and not creamy. I had to omit the lemon grass, and used soy sauce in place of fish sauce. It turned out to be curried water. Might try again with less water and the fish sauce. Not sure what to do with this curried water now, and wondering what I'm going to make for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made a few modifications to this, such as using the zest and juice of one lime instead of kaffir leaves, doubling the lemongrass, omitting the onion and carrot (I didn't have any around), substituting 2 T. soy sauce for the fish sauce, and three medium sweet potatoes for the potatoes. I also halved the red pepper flakes - heat can always be added, if necessary. Overall, I think the lemon/lime character of the recipe is a bit lacking, but I found that the longer the lemongrass simmered, the stronger its flavor came through. Everything else is very nice, though, and I think this recipe is a great template for experimentation. I also added large chunks of tomato, and used fresh shitake mushrooms instead of the boring button or crimini mushrooms. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was very, very good. I followed the recipe to a tee except that I only put in 1 tbsp of fish sauce. There was some heat due to the red pepper flakes, but it was a pleasant amount of heat. Lots of fun to make and not hard - just lots of slicing! Paired with spring rolls, it was a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I goofed up and used another type of curry sauce, and I couldn't find the lime leaves. Don't make it with regular curry sauce! I will try again with the right kind of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This turned out with OK flavour, but was very watery, not very creamy. It needs quite a dose of salt. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
this recipe needs a bit of modification.. i'm use to the chicken curry soup but since this is vegetarian i thought it was okay. my mom told me the curry powder i used was "bad" i can't tell the difference.. there were so many selections in the stores.. oriental/indian/spicy/super spicy/mild +100 plus, no kidding there was a whole ISLE just for curry powder/paste. i used the indian kind because there was alot of them i figured the demand for that product must be high.. and also the soup needs alot of salt!!! the veggies came out great though. i ate all the potatoes and carrots!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this into chicken curry soup because I had a couple of chicken breast to use up. I just added the chicken when I was sauteing the onions and I subbed chicken stock for vegetable stock. It has a great curry flavor. I will make two changes for next time. I will add the red and green peppers later in the process, probably just before the potatoes and I will cut the stock and water in half to make it thicker. I like soups like this closer to the consistancy of stew than soup, but that is just my preference. This soup was awesome with some cooked jasmine rice add in to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was a delicious, flavorful soup/stew with just a couple of small changes. I added an extra tablespoon of curry powder, subbed fresh green beans for the mushrooms and used light coconut milk. Once the soup was cooked, I also added the juice from a whole lime rather than the lime leaves. The bean sprouts added some nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States