Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is good! Used spicy curry powder and added a couple of serano peppers. Didn't have lemon grass but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NREM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
this came out really good and super spicy.. and this is coming from 2 ppl who love spicy.. didn't have shallots so i used green onion instead.. didn't have lemon grass or kaffir lime leaves.. so i used most of the zest & juice of a lemon.. only had red bell pepper.. used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock and added a little more boulion as it tasted like it needed a bit more salt.. i used the fresh ginger but it tasted like it was going to be too overpowering so it only got to be in the soup for a hot second.. used soy sauce instead of fish sauce.. only had soft tofu so i couldn't really fry it before putting it in.. but it still came out fine.. chopped up the cilantro and had it cook with the rest of the veggies.. i used the entire liquid amount but just cooked it longer to reduce it down to make it more like a stew.. i didn't see the comment about using half.. oh well.. ty for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREMOM71
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
WONDERFUL! super flavorful I slurped up the broth at the end. I couldn't find Kaffir lime leaves so I shredded just a bit of lime zest in. I did reduce the water amount by 2 cups as others suggested. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREMOM71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious! Didn't use the fish sauce or kaffir lime leaves, but only because I didn't have them handy. Used the recommended liquids, but then ladled things out to serve more of a stew. Definitely a dish where you can mix and match, although I don't think I'll ever make this without the lemon grass stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Pretty tasty, but next time I will not be putting in the red pepper flakes, and I will probably add another can of coconut milk to make it creamier. The red pepper flakes make it extrememly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
A winner Served at my wine tasting and was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I make this often for the fam. The leftovers make for great lunches. The first few times I couldn't find kaffir leaves and lemon grass. I've recently found a source for both. Although the dish is great without the lemon grass and kaffir, the ingredients really add a awesome depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Delicious curry. Very runny so best served with rice. I even added a little flour to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Good, but I made a lot of revisions to it to make it more like my mom's recipe :) I didn't use any shallots, skipped the kefir leaf, used a red bell pepper instead of green, used 4 carrots intead of 2, 4c chicken broth, no water, no fish sauce or pepper flakes, 3 bay leaves instead of 1, 4 medium potatoes and 1 sweet potato instead of the 8 small ones, and 2 cans coconut milk. I also added some salt and some Sriracha to taste. Delicious! My boyfriend is a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very Delicious! I cut back 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaves, so I squeezed one fresh lemon juice. Added 1 (16 oz) can of chunky pineapple with a side dish of white rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States