Vietnamese Salad Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Just like the ones we used to get at a local Thai restaurant before they took them off the menu! I've made them with the shrimp and chicken and prefer the chicken. I think the flavor of the shrimp gets lost among the other ingredients. I would recommend eating them as soon as they are made, as they tend to lose quality after being refrigerated. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
AWESOME! I substituted imitation crab meat for my non-shellfish friend and they are fantastic! (and cheaper) Also - to spice up Hoison sauce, I added chili oil, peanut butter and soy sauce. You can also add a tiny bit of mint to the roll. I've already made this twice and cannot keep myself out of the leftovers! thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Nom nom nom nom! Yummy rolls I've been wanting to make for years. My basil plant's a tad bare so I wasn't able to include any in the recipe. I wanted to use avocados but found mangoes on sale instead. I'll definitely be making these again and again! Although I would recommend having all ingredients set up to go(and chilled) as well as making sure to really wrap these babies up tight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Delicious! I am allergic to shellfish so I used flaked white tuna instead, which I mixed with lemon juice and basil. Served with peanut sauce. Time consuming but not difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten, a cook from Vancouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Absolutely the best ever! I need a little practise in the "rolling", but will use a sushi mat next time as suggested by another reviewer. I added diced green onions, and some avocado...anything goes when you make them yourself!! I mixed Hoisin and Spicey Asian Dipping sauce....we'll be having these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I used mint b/c my Vietnamese friend uses mint in hers. I also my warm Peanut Sauce from this site to dip rolls in - delish!!!!!!!!!! So lite and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made these using red leaf lettuce that I simply tore up instead of shredding. I also added red cabbage and avocado. I'm allergic to shellfish so I used the "Agedashi-esque Tofu" recipe found here on allrecipes.com. Next though I think I'll skip the basil; I personally don't care for the taste. Instead of hoisin sauce I like to use Thai Sweet Chili Sauce. Although they are time-intensive to make I can make a lot of them and save them for lunch or dinner the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosanna
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I love making salad rolls but it is time consuming. It usually takes me about 1.5 hours from start to finish to make about 15 rolls. In addition to the ingredients listed, I like to add shredded chicken breast, julienne cucumbers, bean sprouts, cilantro and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
OH MY WORD!!!!! I cannot believe how identical this recipe is to the Vietnamese restaurant here!!!! I crave for these and I pay a fortune to have and I seem to never get enough LOL!! Well that wont be happening anymore LOL!!! This recipe is awesome, thank you , thank you , thank you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Thank you so much for this recipe! We get these at our favorite Thai Restaurant, but my husband always says he wants a giant platter full of them...now he will get his wish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States